For Your Consideration: Tobias Menzies For Outstanding Supporting Actor

IMG_20150603_151133

We are really deep into our #EmmysForOutlander Campaign and if you are hanging out on Twitter, you have seen the huge effort that fans of Outlander have put forth into getting Outlander some major Emmy nominations. If the Television Academy has not noticed us campaigning before the campaign truly began, I would be shocked!! Now, on with today’s Emmy post!!

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

Tobias Menzies is great in his duel roles as Frank Randall and Captain BlackJack Randall, an ancestor of the latter. Frank and his five times removed relative have much in common, looking damn near almost alike being the first thing a person notices. Tobias had his work cut out for him playing the seemingly sweet and loving Frank to playing the vile and menacing Black Jack Randall.

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

I imagine it’s not easy to play one very complex character but to master two is amazing! I am not sure I could keep them straight, much less learn all the lines of each character. Tobias seemed to do it all with ease and grace!

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

After you watch Tobias as BlackJack, you find yourself wishing you could see Frank again because Blackjack is terrifying. Although, we did see glimpses of BJR in Frank while he was looking for Claire in the future.

I will speak the same of Tobias that I did of Sam in my Emmy post about him. I don’t know where Tobias had to go to give us those scenes where he flogged Jamie and later raped him, essentially finally breaking him.

I described Tobias as Blackjack Randall in the following way “Utterly terrifying and creep in his movements, actions and words”. I literally got chills and no one could have played a better villain better than Tobias Menzies!

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Emmy Awards, Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

