Meet Wee Fergus….and see why I’m excited

I know that many Outlander fans are anxiously awaiting for news on who will play Brianna and Roger but I was all about Fergus.

BLOGGERS NOTE: In my excitement to post this particular post that I was excited about, I forgot to WARN that this is a major spoiler for show only fans so if you don’t want to know please dont scroll!! I am sorry for my first original paragraph as it was spoilery in nature before my spoiler warning. I do sometimes forget that there are tons of people who have not read the book series.  Once again, I edited to make amends for my major mistakes.

5

I want to know who is going to play her as well but I wanted to know who was going to play Wee Fergus just as much as he is just as big a character in Jamie’s life as well as Claire’s. Yesterday, we all found out who the wee tyke is and it got me thinking about that particular relationship.

Romann Burrux as Wee Fergus

Romann Burrux as Wee Fergus

<!

The reason I was looking forward to knowing who played Fergus is because he became one of my favorite book characters. He started out as a little pickpocket who wormed his way into Jamie’s heart as well as Claire’s (and book readers).

He was this stubborn little orphan boy who claimed he didnt need anyone, and was very independent. Jamie could use his skills but keep him out of trouble and from going hungry. He may have been an independent tyke but his respect and love for Jamie grew. Their growing relationship was one of the best of the second book.

Fergus grew up in a brothel, without ever knowing who his parents were and meeting someone like Jamie was a blessing. Fergus found a friend, champion, savior and a father in Jamie and he followed him wherever he went. When they left France for Scotland, Fergus went with them for they could not leave him behind. He now had a family and a home.

While Jamie went off to fight for the Bonnie Prince Charlie, Fergus stayed with Jenny and Ian. When Jamie came back from the battle and was hiding out in a cave from the Redcoat’s, Fergus took food and drink to him daily. Jamie was not only his hero and role model but his father in every way.

Jamie may not have been able to be the father he wanted to with his biological children but he could be with Fergus. It was through his relationship with Fergus that you could see what kind of father Jamie would have been with Faith (sob) Brianna and William had circumstances beyond his control prevented it from happening. Claire saw it as well which made it that much harder to leave.

Fergus was not only Jamie’s son but Claire’s as well but Fergus is the only child that Jamie had a hand in raising or at least having a major impact on the adult he would become. I am still on The Fiery Cross but Fergus is a wonderful husband and father and Jamie is a proud papa.

I may only be on TFC but I do know he states that he believes every orphan dreams of being the lost child of a great man. Fergus didn’t need to need to dream because he was already the son of a great man, Jamie Fraser. (I might have seen a few spoilers)

This is why I was excited to learn who would be playing wee Fergus because I want to see that play out on screen. Of course, we don’t know how the writer’s have mapped this out, we may not see the full development until Fergus is a wee bit older. This is only the beginning of that part of the story.

I think another read of DIA is in order,sooner rather than later!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Casting, Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meet Wee Fergus….and see why I’m excited

  1. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Ana Fraser Lallybroch Blog.

    Like

  2. Suzanne says:

    So very well stated! You reminded me of things that I had forgotten after finishing all the books last fall. I am currently rereading, having just started DIA, so this is a good reminder of how it all begins & where it leads. It is really exciting to see the story unfold on the screen because the acting has been so brilliant. I hope that the writers, directors, and Ron understand what you have understood about Fergus and his relationship with Jamie and Claire.

    Like

  3. Nan says:

    Great blog but your spoiler note should be above the first paragraph… The first paragraph is very spoilery before the reader even gets to the warning…

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I do apologize. It was much worse as the original title gave a lot away and I had no spoiler warnjnh at all. Editing from my Kindle is not easy and my laptop is down.

      Like

  4. I hate to harp, but your spoiler alert really should come before the first paragraph, which gives away some important information for non-book readers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

