The Little Sassenach That Could…..

…..and will make it through the Wentworth scenes that will soon be upon us. I am aware that this title is a little off as I am not an English person despite the email I received from a follower (you know who you are valued reader) asking if I was British! I thought she asked because I have been typing Mum a lot in my tweets rather than Mom, it happens when you watch one too many shows that air in the UK. I digress! I am American, therefore not a Sassenach but it fits nicely for the purpose of my post.

I think I can….I think I can get through the hard stuff that will soon be showing on my huge flatscreen TV. Here is how I am going about getting through those hard scenes.

I read this upcoming part in the book because I felt compelled to do so for by this time in the story, I was invested and fell in love with the characters. They became my characters too and for them I had to see it through. It DOESNT mean it was easy because I could visualize it happening.

Now I am not sure exactly what we are going to see in ‘To Ransom A Man’s Soul’ but no amount of but I read it in the book is going to prepare me for actually see it. We have heard that they did not shy away from the book scenes and judging by the last episode with the nail and the hammer, I can believe that.

I am just going to watch it (possibly through my fingers) because just as in the book, I am invested in this show and in everyone who has brought this story to life. I am invested in the actors who have made these characters their own and gave 100% of themselves into these scenes. If I owed it to the characters to READ these heartbreaking scenes, then I feel I owe it to the actor’s to SEE it played out on screen, no matter how hard it is to actually watch.

I can only imagine how far they had to go outside of their comfort zones,how deep they had to go into their physch to achieve those very hard to fathom scenes. If they can go to a really dark place to bring a piece of that book to life, then I can watch it.

So that’s how I will get through it by thinking about the high caliber acting we will see and what little piece of themself that had to let go of to bring us these awful disturbing scenes that will undoubtedly and eventually lead us to something really beautiful.

I know this will not work for everyone and I can see why some might not be able to watch it. To be honest, no one ever wants to see something bad happen and most of us never do, so subjecting yourself to that is hard.

It’s one thing to read about it or hear about it in the news but to actually see it?? Well, that’s a horse of a different color and it’s hard to subject yourself to that. I imagine it was hard for the actor’s to go to that dark place as well while filming.

I would have gotten drunk after a long day of filming. So for me, that’s why I will watch it play out, no matter how much I want to run from it. I imagine I will be the same watching this episode as I am when I watch a scary movie…..

LIKE THIS….

watching-horror-movies

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

