Outlander QOTW: WITCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

qotw 22

So, I know it’s not Sunday.. and I also know that those of you who are aquaint with me, totally expected this to be about that hot hot hot HAWT sex scene, and it was going to be and then ..

the word twat was used and I got a little .. pissed off and changed direction.  Which, by the way, is why this is late. I had to wait until I wasn’t pissed off to write this or else it would just be full of F-Bombs.  (There still may be one or two, so gird your loins)

There was a question posed in one of the Outlander groups I belong to about why people couldn’t seem to view the show and the book as separate entities and just enjoy them both for what they are.  And for the most part I agree with that. I made a quick comment about how I had a nit or two to pick but nothing that had caused me any wailing or gnashing of teeth.  I was in the middle of making “things” and had intended to go back and elaborate on my nit …mainly because it was brought to the fore again during 1×11 The Devil’s Mark, but we’ll get to that in a sec.

When I had time to go back, there was a comment about how people who have “negative” things to say or nits to pick didn’t realize what a twat it made them look like. Apparently in the Outlander Fandom, dissent is VERBOTEN. Everything is just supposed to be sunshine and unicorns and if you have something to say it better be positive or you’re a twat.

Well you know what? Fuck you, that’s what. (see, I told you there maybe one or two).  I love a lot of TV Shows.  Outlander, The Walking Dead, Sleepy Hollow, Castle…just to name a few and when things happen that I disagree with, I say so. But Outlander is the only fandom where not only has that voice been silenced, but I’ve been called names for having a differing opinion, not Witch .. but an accusation with same substance.

So I’m going to use this space to pick my nit.  Here it is… The Honesty Speech. It finally made an appearance (albeit a bit abbreviated) in The Devil’s Mark. My original nit was that it was a mistake to leave it out of the wedding night and that for me, (notice I said ME. I never expect anyone to pick the same nits as me) no matter where it showed up, it wouldn’t have the same impact as it would have in that episode, at that point of Claire & Jamie’s story.  Well it’s, shown up, and I was right. It was not the emotional, tone setting, gimme all the feels, speech that it would have been on the wedding night. It almost felt like an afterthought. And I didn’t like it. That doesn’t mean that I think Ron & Co. are doing a terrible job, I don’t. It doesn’t mean I hate the show. I don’t. It doesn’t mean that I’m going to shut down all my Outlander places and never say Dinna Fash ever again.. that’s stupid. But to assume that every one is going to think that every thing is perfect is more than stupid it’s unrealistic.

Those of us who are book readers as well all have problems with this book or that, this passage or that, this character or that .. and those discussions are almost always fun and informative and a lot of times have gotten me to see something in the books in a different way.  But that doesn’t seem to be the case with the show. And I, for one, am rebelling … I’m grown and have learned to think for myself, I am not a Borg, not part of a collective hive mind. (why do I keep throwing Star Trek references in with Outlander stuff…but I digress) I am allowed my opinions about things, I’m allowed to express them and welcome discussion, who knows I may even alter my opinion after discussion.

So, the question today is .. do you have nits to pick about the show? Feel free to pick them here.  It is a safe space.

Oh and one other thing, I have been in love with 99.9% of everything in this show and am happy beyond words that it is finally been brought to the screen. Cait and Sam have been doing an amazing job of bringing to life characters I have been in love with for years. But, the honesty speech should have been in The Wedding and just for good measure, in the flashback scenes to the day Black Jack came to Lallybroch & the flogging, Jamie’s hair should have been long. Both of those things happened before someone *coughdougalcough* hit him in the back of the head with an ax and his hair had to be cut.

That’s it…3 things in 11 episodes. I’m not sure what level twat that makes me, but I’ll take it in any case.

 

 

 

About Dede Taylor

I'm a reader of books, writer of tales, dabbler of .. things. I'm also an avid TV watcher, have been since M.A.S.H. first aired ...(that was a long time ago). I've been to the Berlin Wall (when it still was a wall), shaken hands with Ronald Reagan, and lived in Puerto Rico...among other fascinating things, and I ain't done yet.
This entry was posted in Diana Gabaldon, Outlander, outlander question of the week and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Outlander QOTW: WITCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Maryann says:

    I guess I must be a twat also as I have had a few nits to pick. Let me start out by saying I usually have the most nits during the first viewing of each episode and then calm down with each subsequent viewing. There’s a lot of stuff I miss and wished they’d left some of the “creative” scenes out in order to have room for the epic scenes/lines that didn’t make it. In spite of all this, I still love the show and the actors have been beyond great. The biggest nit I still have, though, is the changing of the thistle ring with the inscription to the key ring. Maybe this will be changed in the future…I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Teeny Bash says:

    I have one nit to pick, accents. Some peoples are really unconvincing and it really throws me off a lot of the time. But I will say that’s probably purely because I am Scottish and an avid visitor to the highlands!
    Otherwise, from my point of view, the writing is incredible. The humour has been captured perfectly and it’s fantastic to watch.
    I’ve not read the books and am quite new to the fandom side of things as it was o lay released here this month (due to David Cameron getting the release date changed).

    Just thought I’d put my 2p’s worth in 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Ana Fraser Lallybroch Blog.

    Like

  4. Julie Nipperess says:

    I’m totally with you Dede. I have LOVED these books since I found them in 1994 and have been dying to see them made into a series (remember when they talked about making a 2 hour movie of the whole thing .. horror of horrors!). I even contributed to the whole conversation over the years of which actors were going to play Jamie and Claire! However, I must say, I watch each new episode on total tenterhooks, completely stressed to see how Ron and Co. are going to deliver this next part of the book, and I must say my initial disappointments do fade with subsequent viewings as I relax a bit more and just enjoy the whole medium … visual rather than my imagination. My disappointment with this week (Devils Mark) was that not enough time was spent on the “big reveal” … too much given to the actual trial and thiefs hole. This was done brilliantly … Lottie stealing the show this time, but I had been so looking forward to the reveal and the emotional response from Jamie, that I was disappointed. The book describes Claires heartbreak when Jamie appears afraid of her (hair standing up on his body etc). What came over was an UNBELIEVABLY extraordinary acceptance from a man of education, intelligence and logic. Sure babe … whatever you say, I’ll believe you! I would have loved to have seen the fear he would naturally feel (and did in the book). I also would have loved to have seen the part when he REALLY knew she was from the future .. when she began to disappear into the stones and he pulled her back. That was an incredibly emotional situation for him and proved beyond doubt she was who she said she was, without him just accepting her word without question … he is an intelligent man after all.

    I am not sure if Ron and co read these, but if you do, please keep in mind that it is the gut-wrenching EMOTION that we all so love in these books … and it would be great to see some more of this! Otherwise, I am loving your work!

    Like

    • Dede Taylor says:

      I do agree about the “after trial” stuff. there was not enough time devoted to what i thought was the more important piece which was the reveal and don’t even get me started on the honesty speech being tossed in there like an after thought. Also there are show only people who are confused about why Claire went back to Jamie. Because of the rush, there was none of the hot baths stuff and some show only people are thinking that maybe she stayed because the stones didn’t work. I do get that not every littlle thing is going to make it into the show and generally I’m perfectly ok with the changes and additions but I think it should be ok to say so when I’m not.

      Like

  5. Anita says:

    Thank you, thank you for this & the Thieves Hole, places where you can let your hair down & say things without being judged. Just like some of my oldest friends. But I must be a bigger twat than you, as I have more than 3 nits to pick & the honesty speech is a big one. I just feel like they haven’t done the best job in showing how much Jamie loved Claire right from the beginning & how much Claire cared for Jamie by the time she told Jamie the truth & he took her to the stones. And how much he was respected by the men & a leader so that Dougal & Column were afraid of him being the next clan leader. I understand that you can’t put the whole book into 16 episodes so things have to be changed up & sped up, but I think I would like the show better if I hadn’t read the books & didn’t keep thinking to myself, that this love story is so much better in the books than it is coming off on the screen. I keep hoping we will get there in the end though.

    Like

    • Dede Taylor says:

      well, to be fair, the story in the book is almost always better than they can do on tv or in movie. But I do get what you’re saying. I think a lot of time was given to what Frank was up to that could have been used for Jamie …

      Like

Leave a Reply

