Funny But I Feel No Guilt In My Pleasure…..

I suppose some could place Outlander in the ‘guilty pleasure’ category but if this is wrong then I don’t want to be right. This series is as epic as it gets! I feel no guilt for my love of the book and show series! I just want more and more!

Day 64

“Why ‘Outlander’ Is the Best Guilty Pleasure on Television” is the title of today’s Wall Street Journal SpeakEasy post, which is a good title but I (and the article) don’t want fans to think that a ‘guilty pleasure’ is all it is! The writer of this post is right when they stated that it’s the ‘smart unpredictability’ that will keep a fan interested and engaged in the series.

I find that statement to be spot on because even a book reader, who has an idea of what is going to happen, suddenly finds themselves surprised. For some fans, this is good and for others it is bad juju. I have been in a fandom that was adapted from a set of books so I know first hand just how far south of the books a TV adaptation can go. You won’t find that in Outlander for the most part. I have always been of the mind that little changes are not a deal breaker for me because the story is still going in the same direction. Different path, same destination.

If the dynamic is not changed, then little changes do not bother me. Unless you give a well known Jamie line to another character, which would change the dynamic, Outlander and it’s brilliant team of producers, writers, cast and crew are aces in my book!

When Claire realized she was near the standing stones and was prepared to leave Jamie and go back to her own time, we knew it was coming but the way Ron decided to go about it was beautiful. You had to know about the heartbreak that both sides were feeling. It was something we were not able to visualize in the book so it was refreshing.

For the September midseason finale, Moore took a rather straightforward scene of her trying to make it back to the 20th century and turned it into a heartbreaking on-screen moment. Even the most die-hard Team Jamie supporters were hoping Claire would succeed (but then, of course, there would be no show). When Claire, in 1743, is approaching Craigh na Dun—the mythical stone circle that allows her to walk through the centuries—Frank is standing in that very spot, in 1945, calling out for his vanished wife. From the viewer’s perspective, Claire and Frank only had to take two steps and they would be reunited. This creative decision made Claire’s capture by British Redcoats all the more brutal to stomach.

I will admit to feeling extreme sympathy for Frank, as well as heartbreak for them both that I momentarily forget all about the young, handsome Jamie Fraser. DON’T FLOG ME! I don’t think I am the only one in the fandom to do so either if they are honest with themselves. I loved it because it added depth to the story and made you remember that there is another side to this lovely period piece.

You can read more of the WJS SpeakEasy post HERE.

Would you classify Outlander as your ‘guilty pleasure’?

Sound off below!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Funny But I Feel No Guilt In My Pleasure…..

  1. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Never as guilty, just as a pleasure, I love the show and the books and I tell it very loud

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Ana Fraser Lallybroch Blog.

    Like

  3. trarecar says:

    I didn’t forget about Jamie at all, but I definitely felt for Frank.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marjorie says:

    Pure Pleasure (book and tv)

    Like

  5. No guilt here – and I’ve taken plenty of ribbing over it. 🙂

    Like

  6. I wouldn’t call it my guilty pleasure because I feel no shame. I do think the article was one of the more intelligent ones I’ve read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

