Don’t Flog Me For My Outlandish Opinion

It’s time for My Outlandish Opinion and it might be one that fans don’t take kindly to. Book fans are not big fans of Laoghaire or her actions but I think people forget how old she is. She is just a young girl and thinks she is deeply in love with Jamie. Who can blame her for wanting what she felt was hers or could be hers?

In a recent interview with TVLINE Sam Heughan defended Laoghaire’s actions in last week’s episode. I agree with him one hundred percent. She is a young, impressionable lass who decides to go after what she wants. I said in my recap that I didn’t agree with her coming on to him at the lake but it was really the manner in which she did it. Dressed in only her corset and ready to give herself to him right at the lake was a little risque for that time and place.

“I think he’s absolutely tempted by her,” Heughan tells TVLine. “He has past history with her.”

Blasphemy!, you cry? Yeah, Heughan has heard it — and knowing that the sentiment is an unpopular one, the actor nonetheless defends Laoghaire’s actions.

“She’s totally misunderstood,” he says. “I’m going to get shot down in flames now, but she’s a good girl. It’s really sad, this young love that she feels. Had Claire not turned up, he probably would have been with her and ended up with her.”

He adds: “Jamie’s whole life and whole path certainly would have been very different had Claire not showed up.”

Heughan also teased that the remainder of the season would see great changes in young Mr. Fraser.

“We see him grow up drastically in this second part of the season. He faces a lot of responsibilities,” he says. “He has a duty he has to fulfill, a lot of problems with the clans and the politics there. It’s certainly about a man growing up.”

I felt that she should know Jamie is an honorable man by now and would have never went against his vows. Still she is young and he was tempted, that much was apparent. I know that this particular scene did not happen in the book but it added substance to the story and insight into both characters. It showed that Jamie is only human and not the perfect man that many of us readers (myself included)like to see him as. This will help non-book readers in how they view Jamie but the way the show is written, it will lead back to Jamie being perfect for Claire,despite his flaws.

While I didn’t like that she left an ‘ill wish’ under the bed, I can see what place it came from. Was it immature of her? Sure,but not any more so than her wanting a potion from Claire to make Jamie love her. I just keep telling myself she is only seventeen.

While it may be sad to think that Jamie would have married Laoghaire, this very well could have happened and this scene will come (*SPOILER*)back into play for a later season. Jamie was attracted to Laoghaire and tempted by her so this scene was needed in order for a potential scene later in the series. It also is a reminder, once again, that Jamie has flaws and is not perfect.

Please don’t flog me!

SOURCE

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Don’t Flog Me For My Outlandish Opinion

  1. She also has spent her whole life – or at least most of it – shut up in that castle, with all of its politics and gossipy back-stabbing bitchery. The ill wish is just the kind of thing that would be *expected* from her. She’s the total opposite of someone like Claire, who is educated, worldly and more mature – by about a decade. Great post!

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Exactly, she is only doing what she knows. We might not like it but I can see where it is coming from. I loved this scene but it is the perfect set up for what is to come. I did not want to spoil non-bookies.

      My mantra is to remember she is 17 and product of the castle in which she lives.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jamie was attracted to her and would have married her? Really? When every time that Claire tried to point him to her in the beginning he acted like he barely knew she existed? So when did he suddenly notice and start falling for her? After a few kisses in the alcove that she almost certainly instigated? Hmmm… not sure about that whole line of thinking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nymerias says:

      Sam and I both said that IF Claire had not come into his life, he would have ended up with Laoghaire. She was someone he knew and he was attracted to her, otherwise he would not have been kissing her.

      He knew he wanted Claire but did not think it would happen so he took what Laoghaire was offering him. He did find her appealing, even if he did not let Claire know.

      Thank you for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  3. rynawolfe says:

    No flogging from me. I think Leery (sorry can’t spell it right) is a product of her time and circumstance and is trying to secure the best future for herself she can. I’m sure she DID have a crush on Jamie from the time she was 7 – BUT being around the castle and it’s politics I’m sure she was also very aware that Jamie was a possibility to take Collum’s place as Laird. Just a thought.

    Like

  4. snarkland78 says:

    Well, my dear, if we flogged you…you might like it. 😉

    Well, because he doesn’t have the foresight that I have (I wonder why?) I will let this one go. However, since we know what Leghair will eventually do I can’t, really, cut her some slack. I’ve had crushes myself…but I didn’t curse them or do anything worse. In fact, usually I couldn’t talk to my crushes, esp at her age, much less have him fondle my boobs like that. She’s a rather forward lass isn’t she??

    Sorry…it’s just stubborn me. I can’t cut her some slack b/c I just know what’s going to happen. Sigh. I’m not a very forgiving wench am I??

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nymerias says:

      No you are not! lol I plead the 5th on the enjoyment of the flogging, this is not #50shadesofplaid okay!

      I get where you are coming from but before the ill wish, she was only going after what she wanted.

      Even the ill wish, while immature and childish, is her just doing what she knows. I can’t say I forgive her but I can see where she is coming from. I get it!

      Love ya though!

      Liked by 1 person

      • snarkland78 says:

        Hey, I wasn’t apologizing about the flogging comment…I was apologizing about my stubbornness!! You shouldn’t apologize if you like it kinky. I won’t judge you…I just don’t want to know!! ☺️

        Well, she’s a spoiled brat who hasn’t quite learned she can’t always get what she wants. And Old Alec was right…she’ll be 15 even when she’s 50. Sigh.

        Hugs and kisses right back (but keep the whip away from me dearie). 😃

        Like

  5. Dede Taylor says:

    I personally have no love for LegWhore.. but I do agree that had Claire never come into Jamie’s life, LegWhore would almost certainly have been Mrs. Fraser. But still, I have issue with chicks that hit on another chick’s husband, no matter how unhappy they may look. Don’t like her, won’t ever like her, but I do fell a wee bit sorry for her. Just a wee bit tho’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Excerpts from the book make it clear he “Has no prospect ” for a wife. I diagree with Sam. The girl was young but had some unk hx. of “Loose behavior” he doesn’t seem the type to succor being a cuckhold. His words I loved you when u let me comfort me at Leoch. He is a man but his moral code wouldn’t of been too thrilled with a woman half naked having him, grope her. He wouldn’t even sleep on thr floor with Claire alone. Yes. She was infatuated as Gellis says but anyone with eyes could see how he looked at Claire. Later. When he married her she pushed him aside. L is just a smart “marketing move” but I don’t think Jamie would of married her for anything more that his own words I was burning- he wanted to get mmm. Definitely wouldn’t of embarrassed Claire by explaining his feelings to the girl. Collum- acc. Bk J&C perfect regarding MacKenzie succession issues. Hollywood. J was loyal Ito his word he prooves that day one. Just my obs & book purist. And a The Ring.. That us one if the most romantic pieces excluded. Sad.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I think what we have to remember first is that the show is not the book. It’s not going to be exactly like the book and believe me I am a book purist too. But as long as they don’t change pivotal things, example giving a well known line to another character or an event, then I am okay with small changes. My time with True Blood taught me a lot.

      Second, this is Sam’s POV and this is how he sees it. I am going to give him that.

      Three, we know he was not in the market for a wife because of his outlaw status but he was looking to clear his name. He would have stayed at Castle Leoch under his Uncle’s protectection, while trying to prove Hus innocence. A wife wasn’t his plan, no but he would have married eventually. It very well could have been Laoghaire.

      Thank you for commenting, I love discussions. I converse with you on Twitter!! 😁

      Like

  7. No flogging from me. I totally agree. 16 year old me in Laoghaire’s shoes would have felt totally used and hurt. He took a beating for her, then made out with her afterwards. (If you think there isn’t a deleted 6 hour scene of Laoghaire and her girlfriends dissecting the tiniest nuances of every interaction Jamie ever had with her, you’re nuts!)

    Even the boob-touching thing….ehh. He’s human. People are messy and complicated, and don’t always behave in the exact right way 100% of the time. That would be boring and flat. I think this gives him a little texture and I appreciate that in a fictional character. The important thing is that he came to his senses and told her no.

    I’ll be interested to see if my opinion changes next week. From the scene in the promo where Laoghaire gets in Claire’s face to tell her “Jamie Fraser was, and IS, mine”….now, that’s pretty bold. If some ex-girlfriend of my husband said that to me, I’d be hard-pressed not to slap her silly.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Exactly and I think they mean to have our feelings change toward her. I am not a big fan of Laoghaire due to being a bookie but I kind of felt for her in that moment. Learning he was married crushed her, it was nice to see that side play out.

      Next episode my sympathy will go away but that’s another opinion for another day.

      Like

  8. I really think that Ron is setting Laoghaire up to be a more sympathetic character than in the books, hence, Sam’s remarks. The way it was edited, (Thanks, Diana!) Jamie gave her no clue that he had not been forced into a loveless marriage. With the addition of Colum being disappointed that Jamie married a Sassenach and therefore not being eligible to become lord, Colum could use Laoghaire’s passion to justifiy getting rid of Claire. She is a sheltered child who will always be a lassie.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Yes and her downfall will be much more sweet. It might be a different path , a little change that Ron made but it will still lead to the same road/path. It just adds to the story without taking away from the original.

      Like

  9. Rachael says:

    I think it’s odd that he totally blew her off during the scene with Gwillan the Bard but now he’s tempted by her, but at the same time I get it. I think it adds depth to the story and drives the plot so I’m okay with it after my initial knee-jerk reaction of anger. I absolutely agree that Jamie is imperfect and it’s good to see that side of him because I think that book readers especially tend to put him on a pedestal. Great blog post, and no flogging from me 😉

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I have been known to put Jamie high on a pedestal, knowing he is a just a man and a young one at that. I think at the Gwillan scene, he was trying to interest Claire but she was pushing the Laoghaire route so I am thinking he thought why not give in to her?

      Thank you for commenting and please come again!

      Like

  10. Peigi says:

    Just love the discourse here – so many good points, and that is part of what makes the Fan Clan so fun!

    Remember that Laoghaire has a history of playing fast and loose with the boys – that’s why her Da
    dragged her up in front of the hall for punishment Plus, Geillis has got to be there behind the scenes stirring up the pot – L didn’t just go down to the local ‘Ill Wishes R US’ !

    And kudos to Nell Hudson for making us care either way.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Yes! People do need to remember that she is an actress playing a part and has feelings that could be hurt. She is playing it beautifully. I love being a part of the Fan Clan! LOL @ ‘ILL Wishes R US’!

      Like

  11. When I first saw this scene, my reaction was now I understand why the honesty vow was left out. You can’t be honest if you are going to have everyone hitting on everyone else. Case in point Dougal can’t keep his eyes or hands off Claire but we have yet to see any connection to Geillis which begs the question—- who’s your daddy?

    In the Scottish Prisoner he feels he can’t consider Betty as a wife even though she is a ladies maid because she if from a lower class,so a scullery maid would be even lower wouldn;t she?

    I sympathise with her feelings but I hardly see her as a child. Sixteen or Seventeen during those times was old enough to have married and given birth . Jocasta married at age fifteen.

    My first reaction was he was tempted but trying to let her down gently leaving him filled with guilt. That would set him up for the decision he makes in Voyager. I will be the first to admit I don’t
    understand why Jamie’s character development was limited to making him a nice but callow youth. In other sites I have seen people rooting for Claire to pick Frank, Dougal, and even BJR.anyone but Jamie.
    If he is stringing along both woman than he deserves to be shot!

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I believe he was trying to let her down gently but he also told the truth. It was an arrangement but one he was going to honor. I don’t see any stringing, it’s going the same way as the book, for the most part.

      Well people at those other sites are going to be sorely disappointed and when they see what BJR will do, I hope they change their mind.

      Like

Leave a Reply

