Outlander: Res Ipsa Loquitur

I know you are probably wondering why I am introducing a Latin Phrase (and a legal one at that) as it pertains to Outlander. Well, the answer is simple really, Ron used it. Well, in a fashion at least! I studied to be a paralegal and worked in that field for a short time before my life changed and landed me in the blogging world. That’s another story, for a different day and for a different blog.

I never forgot anything I learned in school but this particular phrase (which I & a few others used in a mock PI case for a Civil Litigation course) Res Ipsa Loquitur always stayed with me. The phrase means “the thing speaks for itself”. It was the first thing that came to mind when I heard this in a video:

Now I’m in a happy place where the show can speak for itself~Ron D.Moore at the NYC screening of Episode Nine ‘The Reckoning’

Of course, in common law, it is but a doctrine used in tort law that speaks of negligence in an accident or injury and tons of legal mumbo jumbo to go along with it!

Outlander is so well written, so superbly shot, has such amazing actors, characters, scenery, and costume and set design that it no longer needs a champion. The show no longer needs to be explained in order to get people interested and invested in it.

The proof is in the ratings, the amount of amazing acclaim and how much the fans cannot get enough. I have been part of fandoms before and seen some amazing things, and my fair share of crazy things but this feels like a family. Outlanders really do some EPIC shit! Sorry for my foul mouth but it had to be said.

I want to thank Ms. Diana Gabaldon HERSELF for fleshing this amazing story out and with such great detail, you are awesome!

Special shout out to Mony (Outlander Italy) and Kathi(A Saucy Wench) for introducing me to the series when I so desperately needed a new series to sink my teeth into! Love you!

Thank you to Terry and Maril for getting Ron hooked on the idea of bringing this story to life on our TV sets! Thanks for chatting and sharing with us as much as you do!

Thank you Ron for listening to them..lol! I know you saw the potential for this series to be good and guess what? It is beyond good, it is PHENOMENAL.

Thank you for sharing your pictures of the day Matt and for finally showing your face, although it would not have mattered.

Thank you to all the actors, writers, directors, producers and costume design for giving us your best and making us proud to be Outlander fans! Sam, Cait, Graham, Grant, Tobias and company don’t have to interact with the fans like they do but they make the time and it’s great! Again, thank you!

We have survived Droughtlander through Twitter and at times Facebook interaction with the cast and crew when they have the time to do so. We have also entertained ourselves through trivia, fan art, counting down the days and #OutlanderRewind every Saturday night. Now, we are only two nights away!

While Outlander might not need a champion any longer, it sure as hell has a whole legion of them and we are a family or is it fanmily? #OutlandersDoEpicShit

So for me one of Outlander’s new mottos is:

index

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Outlander: Res Ipsa Loquitur

  1. trarecar says:

    Agreed! The show has been so spectacular. As fans we have been truly given a great gift.

    Like

  2. thequeen8118 says:

    Wonderful post!! Couldn’t agree with you more. From the words we fell in love with in the stories, to the acting/production, directing of the show we love. It truly is a wonderful crazy family to be part of!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

