My Outlandish Opinion….

Once, not long ago and on another blog that some of you may know me from, we started to give out what we called Fangpinions (shout out to my True Blood Peeps)that we coined JMFO! I have yet to think of a clever name for my observations and opinions Outlander related as I did for True Blood….YET!

At the moment, all I could think of was MOO…..short for…My Outlandish Opinion…hey…wait…I just came up with one…..MOO! I am about to MOO you, give you my MOO…are you ready?

In every interview, given by every reporter, newscaster or talk show host, our favorite Outlander team are asked the same ridiculous questions over and over again. IN DIFFERENT WAYS!

“What are you really wearing under the Kilt?”

“Do you go commando while wearing the Kilt?”

“Are you wearing the Kilt like a true Scotsman?”

“What is it like filming the sex secenes?”

“How hard was it to film the sex scenes?”

“Did you watch the sex scenes together?”

“Did your parents watch the sex scenes & how do you think they felt about it?”

“What is it like kissing Sam and Tobias?”

“What is is like kissing Caitriona?”

I could really go on and on about the redundant questions that get asked but I would only bore my followers and they already know them all anyway. I find it very insulting that all the media thinks we fans want to know about is if Sam, Graham, Rupert, Duncan, Gary, etc are wearing their kilts ‘like a true Scotsman’! I got news for you, we care about a hell of a lot more than that! Besides, we already know the answer because we have been told a million ways from Sunday what the answer is!

It has gotten to the point where I don’t even want to listen to the interviews because it is always the same thing, almost every damn time. I have seen the cast try to skirt and maneuver the conversation to other aspects of the show and it always comes back full circle.

What the mainstream media loves to focus on astonishes me and I wonder if they think the fans are that shallow. I have to admit that some fans only seem to focus on those details so maybe that is why the media keeps on with the same old same old.

As Outlander continues to grow in popularity as it is now being seen in more countries (finally in the country it is filmed in), we (and the producers, cast and crew) will continue to get more of the same questions and asked in yet even more interesting ways. The answers will still be the same, just told in more inventive ways.

I know that if we fans are tired of hearing those same questions, our Outlander family have to be as well, except they cannot avoid it and in a way, I suppose that means, we can’t as well. It is just all part of the deal of being a member of the show and in being a fan. I would really love it if the fans were able to give questions to the media because we would certainly ask better than those of the ‘What’s under the Kilt?’ variety!

It’s a good thing we can ask questions on Twitter to people like Terry, Maril, Matt, etc and they answer when they can, they are very generous with their time, despite how busy they are into the prepping of the second season. Sam, Cait, Graham, Grant and Tobias are very generous as well and keep the fans engaged! It has been a long Drought but we have weathered through it quite nicely!

Well, that has been the MOO for the week…what questions would you ask if you were the one with that privilege? What can the media do differently? Sound off below!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Outlandish Opinion….

  1. trarecar says:

    Once it happens: (1) what are your thoughts about the spanking episode and the backlash it’s caused it’s caused with some people? and (2) to Sam: was it hard to get into the mindset of being a rape victim? It’s something that women fear around the world on a daily basis but it’s not so prevalent with men.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I love those questions…they have been asked about the spanking scene (Cait has for sure)but not in the way you asked it.

      That second one is brilliant and I think a lot of us fans have that question on our mind or some version of it.

      Like

  2. tiabubo says:

    When they first read the book, there was a scene that they wanted to do but finally it didn’t happen?

    Like

  3. lizzie says:

    1. Get more reporters who are familiar with the books, like Kristen Dos Santos. 2. Instead of having reporters ask in small clusters, maybe have them field questions in a large group, which might prompt them to come up with better questions.
    Say, do you know how the second season will be delivered to us viewers? Will we have to endure another long hiatus, is what I mean? Thx much.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Hi Lizzie! I agree with getting more reporters who is more familiar with the story.

      I know that they start filming in May and I am thinking it might not air until early 2016. Unless they can do quick editing and we get a split season again. We will have to keep up with the production.

      Like

  4. Debbie says:

    Why only 13 episodes for season 2?

    Like

  5. Cheryl says:

    I miss your Fangpinions! I’m so glad that you are going to do these, My Outlandish Opinion or MOO. Can’t wait for them. I know they will be outstanding!

    Like

  6. Regina says:

    My question would be primarily to Sam and Cait:

    Given the popularity of Outlander (especially in the US) and if the series gets picked up for the entire eight books, are you prepared to stay with this character for the foreseeable future? Are you worried about being seen only as Jamie or Claire (i.e., Sean Connery will always be 007, Alan Alda will always be Hawkeye).

    Like

  7. April says:

    Bravo!!! 👏

    My question would be…Technology is a wonderful thing, however, do you think humanity has changed since 1743?

    Like

  8. April says:

    Media; Stop playing Sam Heughan off as a young girl’s wet dream. He is a wonderful Actor and should be respected. Okay, I get it sex sells but there’s a limit. Jamie Fraser was a concerned family man. Think about it. I love how wonderful all these Actors and Actresses are in this series. Loving all of you Outlander’s for your professional abilities and your charitable heart’s!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

