Outlander Question of The Week: Sweets for the Sweet

qotw 17

It’s Sunday, time for the Question of the Week.  Today we’re going to talk about my second favorite thing… Food.  In particular, sweet food, or maybe not…just what you consider a treat or something that brings back good memories whenever you eat it.

 

For me, there are two things. One is sweet, the other isn’t.

First is Italian Cream Cake.

01_WMT_10801_BakingCntr_C_POV_370x270_ItCrCk_US_ENG_01

This is my favorite kind of cake. My mom used to make it for my birthday.  Whenever I eat it, I am immediately reminded of how much my mother loves me. Which makes this no ordinary cake. This is a method of time travel (see, I got Outlander in here). One bite of Italian Cream Cake and I am whisked back to my childhood. A place where my father is still alive and letting me stay up late on my birthday even if it is a school night.

Next is my Grandma Taylor’s lasagna.

4335554_G

I am the only person on earth with the recipe for her lasagna. This too is a time travel device. This takes me back to the same day every time though.  One day during the summer when I was eleven years old, my grandma taught me to make lasagna.  We spent 2 days in the kitchen (the sauce takes a day all by itself, which is why if I offer to make lasagna for you, you know I love you.) making sauce and pasta and bread. It was one of the best days of my entire life.  Like my father, my grandmother is no longer with us and trust me when I tell you, the world is less exciting, less…sarcastic place because of it.

 

So, now you tell me… what food holds the best memories for you?

About Dede Taylor

I'm a reader of books, writer of tales, dabbler of .. things. I'm also an avid TV watcher, have been since M.A.S.H. first aired ...(that was a long time ago). I've been to the Berlin Wall (when it still was a wall), shaken hands with Ronald Reagan, and lived in Puerto Rico...among other fascinating things, and I ain't done yet.
This entry was posted in Diana Gabaldon, outlander question of the week and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Outlander Question of The Week: Sweets for the Sweet

  1. vlane2014 says:

    I too had a grandma Taylor and she made the absolute BEST chocolate cake and icing from scratch! Even now when she has been gone for so long I can’t help but measure all cakes to hers-and they never measure up. The amazing thing is that even when she was all but gone with Alzheimer’s she knew how to bake that cake! Help was required for the oven and timers but never the ingredients, she knew them by ❤️.

    Like

  2. jcampbell29 says:

    Anything and everything my Nana made was absolutely wonderful. She was a woman of few words. It was pretty rare if you heard her say, “I love you.” But you sure did feel her love in everything she made, whether it was food or the blanket she spent hours or even years working on. (The last thing she made before she passed was a quilt she had spent 10 years on.) I remember getting boxes of cookies from my Nana all the time throughout the years. The first bite of one of her cookies always felt like a warm hug. And the love would radiate off those delicious morsels.
    Every time I’m in the kitchen I feel my Nana with me. Especially when I am making some of her classics: dill bread, strawberry rhubarb pie, whipped mashed potatoes, and of course her Thanksgiving stuffing.

    Like

  3. Judy11 says:

    My Swedish grandmother’s spongecake and her butterscotch brownies. Both are family favorite and still made by myself & y daughters tothis day

    Like

  4. Nymerias says:

    I miss my mother’s cooking, anything she cooks but she can’t stand for long periods of time anymore. My Grandma and her homemade apple pies! She is 97 now so she can’t do it anymore either. I used to watch her make them and her homemade noodles drying on the back of her kitchen chairs.

    Like

  5. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Ana Fraser Lallybroch Blog.

    Like

  6. trarecar says:

    Grandma’s fried chicken was THE BEST. We’d try to be the first to reach in for the crumbs left on the plate! My other grandma makes delicious pear hand pies. She taught me how to do them recently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

