A Picture Says A Thousand Words

On the fourth of this month, Outlander fans were treated to two new promo posters for the second half of the first season. They were beautifully done and inspired me to make my own little promo poster. I am not the only one that the posters seem to have effected this way either!

I want to talk about what these posters say in regards to the season as a whole. They may look similar as far as positioning but there are some stark contrasts and tones in each poster.

Let’s start here, shall we?!

poster4

It’s light, airy, fun and with a hint of intrigue and mystery. It depicts a woman trying to grab and hold on to what she knows and is precious to her. I cannot blame her for she is in a strange time where things are barbaric to her and she doesn’t know a soul. She is literally a stranger in a strange land as the narration goes.

She has no choice but to live in the time period that she finds herself in and despite getting to know the land and the people of this era, she knows she needs to get back.

Now moving on to the next poster(s) and there are vast differences that speak of a different story now.

cover

Poster2

It’s darker and very ominous in nature. This time it depicts a woman who is in protection mode against the big bad English Captain who wants to do very bad things to her and her highlander husband (mainly her husband). The Highlander in question is also in protective mode as he is just looking to get her as far away from the big bad Captain as fast as humanly possible.

The following picture is what the new promo posters inspired in me! I included it in my 365 Days of Outlander tweets! If you have any fan art the new promo posters inspired you or someone you know to make, please link in the comments section!

Day 64

And another from our affiliate site Outlander Online made by @ dreamysim1

The differences between the first half of the season’s promo posters to the most recent posters are not subtle for they are meant to be darker, just as we know the second half will be!

I say bring it on: Je Suis Prest!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Picture Says A Thousand Words

  1. Cheryl says:

    Can’t wait! But I guess I have to!

    Like

  2. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Ana Fraser Lallybroch Blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

