Outlander Question of the Week: Family Heirlooms

qotw 15

It’s Sunday and time for the Question of the Week.  This time we are gonna talk about our families.

In episode 1×06 The Garrison Commander, Claire sees Black Jack’s straight razor and is immediately sent back to a memory of Frank, with that same razor.  So today we’re going to talk about the things you own that remind you of family and with just a touch, or even at just the sight of the object it can take you right to that person.

 

Here is a photo of a couple of my family heirlooms:

20150215_123008

The box was made by my maternal grandmother and the hair combs belonged to her as well.  The lace bedspread was crocheted by my mom.  All of these things live in my house with me and bring back memories of my grandmother, and not just memories that have to do with the items that belonged to her. My favorite memory of her was when I was little she would always sneak me extra mashed potatoes even when my mom said I couldn’t have anymore. My Memaw knew what I liked. 🙂

So tell us about your heirlooms and what memories they take you to.

About Dede Taylor

I'm a reader of books, writer of tales, dabbler of .. things. I'm also an avid TV watcher, have been since M.A.S.H. first aired ...(that was a long time ago). I've been to the Berlin Wall (when it still was a wall), shaken hands with Ronald Reagan, and lived in Puerto Rico...among other fascinating things, and I ain't done yet.
This entry was posted in Outlander, outlander question of the week and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Outlander Question of the Week: Family Heirlooms

  1. Jane says:

    I am very lucky to have one of my grandma’s set of crystal, including the candy holder that always sat on the top of the bookshelf and was kept filled with hard candies. From my other grandma, I have 3 homemade quilts. Finally, I have mixing bowls – the wonderful crockery type – from both grandmas who passed their love of cooking down to our entire family.

    Like

  2. TnLass says:

    It is the little things that can take you back to the fondest memories. Yes I have furniture, personal objects, quilts and the like. I am grateful for each item that I have and cherish them all. But of all the things I have of my family heirlooms it is these two objects (somewhat strange), that mean the most and are a bit odd. One is an old candy tin of my Great Grandmothers, that she kept her sewing notions in. Buttons, bobbins, zippers and the like. These aren’t the objects that take me back to her but the moment I open the tin I can still smell her “rose water” she always wore. It never fails, I always have a rush of emotions and a sense of comfort rushes over me. The other, some may find very odd… As a young women she had beautiful auburn knee length hair and after marriage she cut her hair. She saved it and to this day I still have it. I’m not sure why she saved it but I can’t seem to part with it.

    Like

  3. Arkay says:

    Mom and her father were both fiddle players. I, too, am a musician, but on other instruments. Mom was giving away family items, and when she asked what I wanted, I asked for one of the violins. She gave me Grandad’s, which was well over 100 years old at the time, inside the box he made for it. The box is almost as significant as the violin. Having them in my music room, tucked in with all the other instruments from both sides of our family, still makes me smile.

    We also have sewing and crochet kits and Fenton glassware from great aunts, Spousal Unit’s grandmother’s bone china and crystal, his mom’s crystal, a great grandmother’s silver tea strainer, and over a century of photographs. One glance and another memory pops up.

    None have any great monetary value, but they are priceless to us, for they are our histories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

