Outlander Question of the Week: What’s Your Favorite Curse Word?

qotw

It’s Sunday and time for the Outlander Question of the Week.

This week I thought we’d have a little fun and let off a little steam. When Claire is frustrated or irritated or can’t get the bandages to do what she wants them to do she lets fly with the now virtually iconic “Jesus H. Roosevelt Christ!”

So this week we’re going to talk about what it is we say when the bandages won’t do what we want them to do.

My personal favorite (and if you know me or follow me on any of my social media things, this will come as no surprise) is FU*K. It’s an all purpose word and works for every situation.

For instance, the bandage goes exactly where you put it and stays on just like it’s supposed to .. FU*KIN’ A!!! is a perfectly acceptable response.

But if the bandage slips and slides and gets all bloody and just refuses to behave, OH FU*KIN’ A!! is also a perfectly acceptable response.

Happy, mad, glad, sad…doesn’t matter FU*K will work.

For my maternal grandmother and both my maternal aunts it was SH*T… also a good, all purpose curse word.

My mother, who is a dignified and classy woman (totally unlike me) doesn’t use foul language.  So when the bandage slips and refuses to do what she wants it to do, she screams “Oh FOOT!”

My father was also dignified and classy, being a Command Sgt. Major in the U.S. Army. He had a “Cuss Can” on his desk, anyone who said a curse word in his presence had to throw a quarter in the can. This was in the ’80’s so I’m assuming that if he were still alive, the price would have gone up. There was a major who, when he would get frustrated and wanted to spew a string of profanity, would go into my father’s office, throw five bucks in the can and let fly.

So come on, ‘fess up…what is your favorite curse word?

About Dede Taylor

I'm a reader of books, writer of tales, dabbler of .. things. I'm also an avid TV watcher, have been since M.A.S.H. first aired ...(that was a long time ago). I've been to the Berlin Wall (when it still was a wall), shaken hands with Ronald Reagan, and lived in Puerto Rico...among other fascinating things, and I ain't done yet.
This entry was posted in outlander question of the week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Outlander Question of the Week: What’s Your Favorite Curse Word?

  1. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Ana Fraser Lallybroch Blog.

    Like

  2. analoria says:

    I usually say ‘OH DIRTY WORD’, with all the emphasis of my mothers favorite, ‘OH SHEEE IT’!
    RIP mama, I can still hear you say it! LOL!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. candace says:

    trying to clean up my act, so I’m switching to suuugar (sometimes adding “plum fairy!!) I said trying, not always working

    Like

  4. Cheryl says:

    I gotta go with F*ck also. It fits in every situation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

