The One With The Follow…..

I was talking to a fellow Outlander fan/close friend yesterday about the Sam’s Fan Follow infatuation going on via Twitter and I ended up having a dreaming about the two of us talking about it. It’s funny how dreams work huh? Anyway, in the dream, I said to her that it reminded me of the movie…wait for it….Win a Date with Tad Hamilton! Ladies and Gentlemen, sometimes that is how a post is born!

win-a-date-with-tad-hamilton

As a result of said dream, I am now going to call #SamsFanFollow……Win a Follow (For a Week) from Sam Heughan! Do not worry, you will not be asked to give a hundred dollars to Beat Blood Cancer as part of an entry fee for the follow to happen. I think that is something that could just be done out of the kindest of your heart. Well, if you have the funds to donate any amount of money, that is. I still would like to know where that entry fee went in the movie mentioned above but I digress. Remember there are rules though and contrary to popular opinion, some are NOT made to be broken.

You won’t be flown to Los Angeles, where a limo will pick you up to take you to your hotel. The same limo will not be taking you and Tad, I mean Sam, on a date where you will precede to drink entirely too much and throw up in said limo. He won’t show up on your doorstep a few days later because he found you (and your puking skills) intriguing. He won’t be trying to sweep you off your feet, impress your family or compete with your best friend who is secretly in love with you. He doesn’t need any of your goodness to be rubbed off on him; I think he has that covered, because those who know him see him as a genuine guy.

It’s just a simple follow on Twitter and I think all you have to do is the following:

• Be a loyal and true fan to Sam
• Be loyal to the clan fandom
• Don’t harass Sam during your reign with too many tweets or direct messages
• Support @BeatBloodCancer

SamFanFollow

Now, I would like for everyone to know that I am not making light of this situation with my comparison (and jokes) because I do think it is a brilliant PR move. The man is a social media dream. I don’t know how long he intends to keep this Twitter follow thing going, if at all (this thought has crossed my mind several times) but I do wonder if it will get out of hand in some areas. Is it fair to others, for example? Will people be happy for the person who won a ‘FOLLOW’ or will they be jealous and bitter?

Personally, I think it’s cool what’s happening in Twitterville and it does help with the Droughtlander issue. I believe some would want a follow from Sam the Man because he found them either funny as hell or very, very intriguing and it would be due to their own merit. It would not be up to a vote due to some contest. However, with that being said, don’t some things like this happen by chance or simple luck of the draw? I am a Libra so I see both sides to the issue.

I don’t know how the next #WinAFollow (if there will be one, only the man knows) is going to be determined but I will be watching to see how it all unfolds. Will you?

Keep it classy as always DREAMERS!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Fangirling, Outlander, Twitter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The One With The Follow…..

  1. pogonip says:

    Droughtlander is long, and dangerous to a popular television series, so what Sam is doing with his #SamsFanFollow, and the posts Caitriona makes are brilliant for keeping established fans involved. Granted, the fans on Twitter are of the more devoted type, but Starz is also releasing photos and teasers which reach a wider audience. Outlander had such a strong start it would be a shame to see it lose momentum…..and viewers.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I agree, it helps very much to keep fans engaged during a long hiatus. Blogs like this one (and others) can only do so much to keep everything alive and kicking.

      I hope that this fan follow thing as well as Cait’s tweets and the rest of the cast and crew can get new fans on Twitter. A lot happens on twitter that some are missing out on.

      Matt’s pictures of the day, Terry’s tweets, Rupert and Graham all help as well.

      It would be a damn shame

      Like

Leave a Reply

