Paying It Forward

Sam Heughan has been known to be very generous with his fans, sharing a small portion of his life through Instagram and Twitter, and fans just eat it up. This week, he has taken it up a notch and it’s either a crazy idea or a stroke of genius! He has a lot going on with the My Peak Challenge, which benefits his charity @beatbloodcancer, as well as his fans with their health. He also will be filming an Indie movie beginning in February I believe and later will be filming the second season of Outlander. What crazy or genius idea am I talking about?

Capture
I am not sure how that came about as I just happened to stumble upon the tweet, and was not about to search through a zillion tweets to find the answer. Do I think it is crazy? Well, after thinking about it, I believe it is brilliant beyond brilliant. It is a very social media savvy idea for him and his PR team to think of (if that’s the case, he does seems to just wing it when he tweets).

He gets a fan to pick another fan for him to follow for a week and it makes them feel special, for lack of a better word. It’s a very interactive way for fans to pass the time through Droughtlander. He set all this in motion and his charity will benefit as a result, and not to mention the fact that he is giving back to the fans as good as he got. He can’t meet every single one of his fans so what else can he do to let them know he appreciates them? It is for that reason that I think it is brilliant.

If I am honest, I don’t believe he thought about it before he tweeted; it just seems to be his nature, that’s my impression of him anyway. I think he is just a really genuine person and tweets the first thing that comes to mind. So, who is going to catch the Sam, ummm I mean baton when that baton gets passed to the next fan? How does the decision get made? What are the rules for #SamsFanFollow? I am glad you asked!

SamsFF2

There have been tons of entries (I can only imagine) and I have to say that I have seen some very creative ones. I do not envy her the decision at all but she is being very diplomatic about it. I like that it was turned into a contest of sorts. Don’t forget to join in on the #MyFirstTweetParty tomorrow on Twitter!

SamsFF

Have fun Dreamers and I hope that you catch the baton!  On the off chance that someone does not know the details of the #MyPeakChallenge more information can be found at Bear Strength.

Have fun and keep it classy Sassenachs!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paying It Forward

  1. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Ana Fraser Lallybroch Blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. di_elle says:

    this is one of the most embarrassing thing I’ve seen happening in a fandom, EVER. He was too sweet and nice to say it was a mistake. the sane part of the fandom is alternatively laughing and shaking their head in second hand embarrassment reading most of those entries and comments. No self awareness, no boundaries, no sense of ridiculous seem to stop it. and not, I’m not a hater or jealous. I wouldn’t want to be followed by some famous person (or someone I admire), because someone forced him/her too, I’d prefer (and it happened already) to be followed because said person do actual find my timeline interesting and what I tweet engaging. you’re all grown up women, please, stop embarrassing yourself in public. because, yes, twitter is public. you wouldn’t say out loud in a square or a pub, half of the thing you tweet at him.
    (“you” is generic)

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      It very well could have been a mistake but it is something we will never know. Therefore, I cannot comment on that and won’t because it’s speculation and not fact.

      As I said in my post, it was either crazy or a brilliant PR move and definitely social media savvy. I, too would want to be followed because of the interest factor but in this instance, it can (and is) be considered to be a fan appreciation thing. Forced is a bit strong of a word because no one HAS to do anything they do not want to. He can bow out any time he wishes.

      I am not sure it will be something that can be done on a regular basis because he does not have that kind of time. It might get out of hand but I would think most people don’t expect it to be something he can do every week.

      Regardless of his reasoning, which let’s face it, he is the only one who knows that reasoning, it was a brilliant move, especially from a PR standpoint.

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

