Outlander Question of The Week: A Life’s Work

outlander,outlander starz, outlander 1x01,outlander 1x01 sassenach, caitriona balfe, claire randall,

It’s Sunday, time for the Outlander Question of the Week.

Today we are going to talk about who we are.

Claire was a healer.  Being a nurse and a doctor wasn’t just what she did, it was who she was. She couldn’t walk away from someone who was hurting and not try to help them in some way. Healing people was a way of life for Claire, part of her being and her purpose in life.

Jamie was a leader of men. A protector, a warrior, a laird. He was the one upon whom all responsibility rested and he bore that responsibility with grace and passion. He couldn’t walk away from those in need of protection or comfort, even if they may not have been worthy of it. Remember when Alex Randall died? Who was it that walked Jack out of that room and gave him comfort?

So this week’s question is about what makes you YOU.  Even if you’re not doing the thing you feel called to do, whether for financial reasons, or family obligations, or because, like me, you’re scared you’ll suck at it; what is your thing? What is the thing that you either long to do with your life because you feel you die if you don’t or that you are doing because you KNOW it’s who you are?

For me …it’s writing. My problem is that I’m so afraid I’ll fail, that I freeze up when trying. This year is going to be different for me though. I am a story teller and this year, I’m going to tell stories. If no one reads them or nothing comes of it, well then that’s what happens. But I AM going to tell stories.

So tell me, who are YOU? What were you born to do? If you’re not doing it, why not?

About Dede Taylor

I'm a reader of books, writer of tales, dabbler of .. things. I'm also an avid TV watcher, have been since M.A.S.H. first aired ...(that was a long time ago). I've been to the Berlin Wall (when it still was a wall), shaken hands with Ronald Reagan, and lived in Puerto Rico...among other fascinating things, and I ain't done yet.
This entry was posted in Outlander, outlander question of the week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Outlander Question of The Week: A Life’s Work

  1. Robin says:

    I wish I knew . . .

    Like

  2. Cathy Brown says:

    I am a registered nurse. It is not just my job, it is part of what I am. I work in radiology and my caseload of patients includes those being treated for liver cancer. I do still occasionally hold someone’s hand as they pass away. I do my best to let them know as they are going, that they are loved and that it is okay for them to go, that they have raised their families to be ok without them. It is not an easy calling, but it is what I was meant to do.

    Like

  3. pmore60 says:

    I have not always looked on the positive side “of things”, but I have discovered I am a comforter and supporter to those who need a shoulder to cry on, or a “look on the brighter side” reminder during hard times. I do not mind friends telling me their worries, even if I can only help by listening.

    I grew up with depression and anxiety in my life. I managed to pick myself up, reflect on where I was, and who I am; a keeper of secrets, a shoulder to cry on, and a boost of positive karma.

    Like

  4. Janet says:

    Absolutely loved this article! I too am striving to be a writer. 20 some odd years of terrifying fear of failure has kept me from what I love to do, but, like yourself, I promised myself that THIS is the year for me! Wish me luck, as I do you as well.😊

    Like

  5. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Ana Fraser Lallybroch Blog.

    Like

  6. cristina says:

    I am a midwife. and as clair serving and helping other women. It’s what I love and what I was understanding with the passing of the years

    Like

  7. Becca says:

    I am a caregiver. I enjoy giving to those that need. It could be my shoulder if you need a cry, an ear if you need someone to hear/listen, food if you’re hungry. It’s better to give than receive.

    Like

  8. Judy11 says:

    I am and will always be a teacher. It started with me teaching math to my stuffed animals as a youngster! It led me to being a professional teacher of math in a junior high school for a number of years. Then, I was teacher (not the prof teacher) of my own children, youth groups and now grandchildren. I see teachable moments everywhere, all the time in every part of life. It is truly a part of my nature to look at life differently than many others and look at how to better structure situations, information, etc to reach each individual child – truly a teacher’s skill. I am at heart a teacher and love it!!

    Like

  9. Sandra Ward says:

    I’m an insightful person. A fill the gap person. If a need arises I try to fill the gap. Writing is a passion Understanding others from cultural/sociological or another perspective is key to know someone’s heart. Acceptance of others where they are at. Career and family-wise very blessed. But. . . . I have been thinking about going on E-Harmony to find a heart match. That scares me to death! Life is good, but I feel that missing piece to share who I am with another. Shall we make a pact Dede to go for our dreams?

    Like

  10. What a Big Question !

    I am a visual person and always try to consider things from different perspectives. This applies to photography and also for my dealings with others. My friends say I’m a fighter because I have really survived some less good situations and still laugh and love life again. In reality, I’m just a Person who does not want to give up-because I am stubborn as a mule. I live every day as if it were my last, so I have nothing to regret.. This is why I always say what I think and try not to give up something for fear I am afraid of rejection every time when I publish my photos, but I love this creative part of my life so much that I want to share it with others ,

    This is me!

    (sorry for the bad english, but Google Translator was not much help)
    Heike

    Like

  11. trarecar says:

    I hate to see injustice and unfairness, so I think at my most basic I’m a fighter. I’m pretty active with causes that I’m passionate about, and I work in the criminal justice field (prosecution side). It’s a good fit. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

