Outlander: Question of the Week, The Last Time

qotw 7

So, it was an ordinary day, and ordinary things were happening. Frank was going about the business of tracking down his ancestors and Claire was trying to ID a plant. Nothing special. Nothing to indicate that their lives were about to drastically change.

If they had known that the last time they saw each other would be the last time they saw each other, would they have done this last moment differently?

And that is our question this week.  What would you have done differently if you knew the last time you saw someone, would be the last time you saw them?

This time of year is always difficult for me.  On the Friday after Thanksgiving 1988, my father died. For the 3 weeks prior to that night, he hadn’t spoken a word to me. I had gotten pregnant, with no husband, and well, sometimes dads don’t handle that well. Now, my dad and I were very close and I have no doubt that if he had lived we would have worked through it and everything would have been just fine. But we were both angry and coming to terms with that in our own, very stubborn way. (I come by that and my sarcastic wit verra honestly)

The last thing my father ever said to me was “is it me, or is it hot in here?” and then he turned sideways out of his chair and fell dead on the floor.

Had I known that those three weeks would be the last I would ever spend with him, I’d have been less stubborn, more forgiving, and perhaps still have my father around.

So, now it’s your turn. What if the last time, was the last time? What would you change?

About Dede Taylor

I'm a reader of books, writer of tales, dabbler of .. things. I'm also an avid TV watcher, have been since M.A.S.H. first aired ...(that was a long time ago). I've been to the Berlin Wall (when it still was a wall), shaken hands with Ronald Reagan, and lived in Puerto Rico...among other fascinating things, and I ain't done yet.
This entry was posted in Outlander, outlander question of the week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Outlander: Question of the Week, The Last Time

  1. Sandra Ward says:

    Dede – from my youth, yes. I lost my Dad young as well. It is his December birthday that always brings me sadness, tears and joy remembering how fun he was. Age and experience brings revelations. Its taught me to say the things I need to at the time and be kind along the way. Be that to yourself now. I think our Dads know who we have become and are proud.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. myrnama says:

    I’m not sure Claire & Frank would had done things any different, because it seems to me that even tho on this 2nd “Honeymoon” as Frank called it; he & Claire had not begun “re-connect” at all! Remember, as soon as they entered their room, he took off his hat & coat & immediately sat on the bed to look at some journal or notes regarding his family history!! Their trip to Scotland was just an “attempt” on Franks part to re-kindle their lives together, but once there he seemed to want to spend more time researching genealogy than be with Claire!
    Despite Claire “telling” him what she wanted by her silent request of a “kings kiss” at the ruins of Castle Leoch, I thought she was trying harder that he was. . I really don’t think they would have stayed together anyway, even had she not “fallen” thru the stones!! M

    Like

    • myrnama says:

      Sorry, I guess I misunderstood that the question was to address something WE would or would not do differently, not about the Outlander characters! Sorry, I took the question so impersonally! M

      Like

  3. Joni Crim says:

    Spend more time with my Dad

    Like

  4. Lisa Collette says:

    OH Dede first I am just so sorry. I lost my grandmother, who raised me, the day after Christmas 1982. She literally died of a broken heart. My father had had an affair, with a woman who was one of my mother’s only friends. My mother was not prone to friendships. It lasted a year…around the 35th year of their marriage. I was not living at home, I was working in television 3.5 hours away. NO one in my family told me this was even happening. I have two sisters. REALLY??? So one week before Christmas that year, my father showed up at my house with a family friend but clearly something is not right. I of course ask them in. When I called my mother’s home to find out what the heck was going on…I became the ‘traitor’ in the family. What??? but yes. My dad and I talked, he went back home and ended the relationship. I was still a traitor according to my mother.. who would not let me talk to my Grandmother by phone.. NO cell phones at that time.. I didn’t have any other way of walking to her. She had a fatal heart attack the day after Christmas and I never got to talk to her again. It tore me up for years and I have been distant from my mother since then. I lost my father in 2006 and outside of this one time, he was always a rock in our family and continued to be after this time. He was my rock. If I would have known my Grandmother was about to die I would have shared with her how my life really was and why it was so hard for me to get home. I worked around the clock, small stations work you to the bone. I didn’t want her to worry, but of course she still did. I loved her so much.

    Like

  5. Randi Christi says:

    It was Christmas Eve – my favorite night of the year. I was getting dressed to go out to dinner with my husband of almost three decades. He said he had to run out to the Post Office to check to see if a package arrived. He never came back. He had left me for another woman – on Christmas Eve! Now that night makes me cringe every year. If I could go back – I would want to really look at him – because I know the truth would have been there in his eyes. Instead of remembering the face of a liar I might have seen into the eyes of a tormented soul and later been better able to forgive him!

    Like

    • bigdoh says:

      It was exactly 8 years ago today that I lost my dad. We had a difficult relationship
      most of my life, yet he was always there for me when I needed him most. I remember a week before just after Thanksgiving he stopped by with my mom. He never did that. He talked about how he was driving around to all his favorite places. A week later, he was gone. I never said that last I love you. I still think of all the times I could have made that 25 mile drive just to spend some time with him and my mom. I can’t get that back.

      Like

  6. Roz says:

    Too many regrets to list. But the message is to treat everyone as if it was the last time you were going to see them.

    Like

  7. mlr548 says:

    First off I’m so sorry for the loss of your Dad. Six years I took my husband to the hospital for routine procedure.The drs all assured me he would be fine ,That was on a Thursday.They gave him a battery of tests and even though he did have some problems they assured me they would be able to handle it with meds,I spent all day Friday at the hospital and on Sat my daughter was with me as was my son and his family. My younger son lives in Ct and I had told him don’t rush down to the phila area he was coming home on Sunday.We all were getting ready to leave on sat nite and I was the last to kiss him goodnite telling him I would be there early to get him ready to come home.He was tired and couldn’t wait to come home.Patience was not his virture.I had just walked out of the room and something made me go back for one more kiss and I had to tell him I loved him.We were married 48 yrs and I met him in high school. On sunday morning my daughter and I got to the hospital and as we approaching his room the nurses stopped me to tell me he had passed away 20 min. before I got there . I can’t tell you how glad I was to have gone back to get one last kiss and say I love you one last time.He was the love of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. trarecar says:

    I found out that my mother had been complacent in something horrible that had been happening in my family and I decided since no other punishment was forthcoming, I would punish her by withholding my presence and my affection. This went on for a couple of years. She came up to visit my sister (who had just had a new baby), and I decided to go over and visit her too, with MY one year old toddler, who my mom had never seen. She’s never met my new husband either (and never would). We had a nice visit and I told her I would come back the next day to visit, but I knew driving off that I wouldn’t. I called the next day with some bs story. She pretended to accept it, because I’m sure she knew it was a lie and she was just happy we’d spent any time together. She left the next day and a week later died in a car accident a few days before Mother’s Day. I would change the way I handled our relationship, of course, but if nothing else, I would have gone back to see her the next day. Who knows? We might have actually started talking about the problem and come to an understanding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

