Outlander: Question of the Week

outlander, outlander starz, sam heughan, graham mctavish, caitriona balfe, jamie fraser, dougal mackenzie, claire beauchamp,

This week’s question is about what’s important.

After Dougal displays Jamie’s back for all to see, we understand that Dougal is clearly all about King and Country, even at the expense of family. He’s willing to do whatever it takes to restore King James to the throne of Scotland and if the sweet lad gets his dignity trampled in the process, well that’s just fine by him.

He can’t have Claire blabbing his secrets to the English either, so he cooks up a plan that will keep her out of Black Jack’s interrogation room, and take Jamie out of the running for Laird of Clan MacKenzie for good. The Clan would never want him as Laird if he was married to a Sassenach, who may or may not be a spy.

Jamie tells Claire that he continues to let Dougal use him because a man has to choose what’s worth fighting for, and going against Dougal isn’t worth it, well at this point anyway. (that’s a wee bit of a spoiler for show only people, and for people who haven’t read all the way through Dragonfly yet)

So here is the question, what is THAT important to you? What thing is so important, that you’re willing to risk anything to see it happen, or protect it, or stop it from ending?  IS there anything that important to you? Is there something that means so much to you that you’d even be willing to risk family for it?

I haven’t found a thing that important to me yet, but I’m interested to know if you have.

About Dede Taylor

I'm a reader of books, writer of tales, dabbler of .. things. I'm also an avid TV watcher, have been since M.A.S.H. first aired ...(that was a long time ago). I've been to the Berlin Wall (when it still was a wall), shaken hands with Ronald Reagan, and lived in Puerto Rico...among other fascinating things, and I ain't done yet.
This entry was posted in Diana Gabaldon, Outlander, outlander question of the week, Spoilers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Outlander: Question of the Week

  1. titania522 says:

    When you ask if there is something I would protect at all costs, it would certainly be my family. I have yet to find anything that is worth risking my family to achieve, protect or defend. I am of the same mind as you :).

    Like

    • Dede Taylor says:

      I would guess it would have to be something you believe is for the “greater good”, for Dougal it was an independent Scotland and her rightful king restored .. I suppose you never know what circumstances will present themselves that will have you questioning what is truly important.

      Like

  2. anafraserlallybroch says:

    Reblogged this on Analaguna's Blog.

    Like

  3. Deb says:

    From the moment you hold your first child in your arms, the answer is very simple. My children. I’d die for them without hesitating. It’s worth fighting to keep your family (however small) together.

    Like

  4. Great topic!
    “A man’s beliefs are how he makes sense of life. Take that away and what do you have left?” ~Jamie Fraser
    I believe in the value of family. I also value my conscience and the beliefs that motivate me to love and care about others. Compassion, openness, honesty, kindness…
    I have had family demand I compromise these towards specific people in order to remain a part of the family.
    The only option for me is to remain true to my conscience, because if I violate that, then what?

    Like

  5. Cheryl says:

    It has always been my children and now I add to that my grandson. My ex is not on that list anymore but my babies always will be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

