Outlander Sunday Question of the Week –The Supernatural

outlander 1x01 sassenach, sam heughan, tobias menzies, caitriona balfe, jamie fraser,frank randall, claire randall,

In the pilot episode of Outlander, (1×01 Sassenach) Frank encounters a man who appears to be looking up at his wife’s window. Events get him thinking that perhaps he’s seen a ghost. (or that his wife cheated on him …what a conundrum)

Now, most of us are certain that what Frank saw was Jamie’s ghost (mainly because Diana SAYS it was, and promises an explanation in the last book, and since most of us don’t ever want this story to end, it’s an explanation we’re willing to wait for) and that has inspired this week’s question.

Do you believe in ghosts, spirits, angels, demons (I think you get my drift here) and if so why? Is it just something that you take on faith or have you had an experience that has convinced you of the existence of the other worldly?

If no, then why?

I do believe and it’s because I’ve seen the ghosts of my grandmother and my father. I wasn’t asleep or under the influence and I’m certain of who I saw. They spoke to me and still do. I’m certain that my grandmother (who got bored very easily ) isn’t finding whatever the afterlife is very entertaining because she keeps hiding my stuff.

Now, having said that, I will also say that I do not subscribe to the doctrines or tenets of any religion, but I do believe that there are things we cannot explain and that maybe, we shouldn’t try.

Okay, it’s your turn. GO!

About Dede Taylor

I'm a reader of books, writer of tales, dabbler of .. things. I'm also an avid TV watcher, have been since M.A.S.H. first aired ...(that was a long time ago). I've been to the Berlin Wall (when it still was a wall), shaken hands with Ronald Reagan, and lived in Puerto Rico...among other fascinating things, and I ain't done yet.
This entry was posted in Diana Gabaldon, Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Outlander Sunday Question of the Week –The Supernatural

  1. Stephanie Wink says:

    I do believe in them and have had a few experiences myself. Most are longer stories, but one is brief enough to relate here. It was the middle of the night and I was sleeping and I heard something that woke me up. When I opened my eyes there was a woman I have never seen before. She was leaning over me and had gotten her face really close to mine. When we made eye contact she blew out a puff of air into my face, which made me close my eyes by reflex. I felt the puff of air hit me. When I opened my eyes again she was gone. When I first saw her I startled and the movement woke my husband up. He asked me if I was OK and what was wrong. I told him and he said she must have had a message for me. I don’t believe that though. I was left with the very distinct feeling that she was only trying to get my attention to see if she could do it and having satisfied herself of her success, she left me alone.

    Like

  2. Susan Fields says:

    Oh, I do believe and have seen! First time was right aftwr dad died, my sister and I saw him at the same time. We turned to each other and at same time we said.. did you see that? Next time I was in Charleston, SC… love that city. Saw a lady in long dress sitting at a grave. Very true story. Scared the bejeezes out of me but I loved it. She faded away shortly after.

    Like

  3. For me it isn’t a matter of believing, because I KNOW. I’ve seen proof. While the paranormal isn’t exactly anything new to my family, most of my family tends to ignore it. (Especially my sister and mother). Even I’ve had a few strange experiences before, but it isn’t an everyday thing at all. Also, like yourself, I don’t really subscribe to any religion.

    But back to ghosts… When I was around 6 years old I saw a spirit kneeling at the end of the bed, smoothing out the bed covers. He was VERY CONCENTRATED on his task. I was incredibly frightened, but also confused because of his strange appearance. Even his hairstyle was completely foreign to me. (I would later discover that his strange/fancy attire was from the Renaissance era, and that his “girly” hair was a pageboy. He wore fancy clothes. I remember his vest – now I know it’s called a “jerkin” – as having lines that were stitched vertically, and that between the stitched lines it ‘puffed’ out a bit because it was slightly padded. It was a burgundy vest). I was really frightened, but he must have sensed that I was awake and watching him because finally he stilled his motions and slowly looked up. His eyes started glowing a bright white light; like a light encased inside a fog.

    Over the years I’ve had MANY dreams about him – one of them quite scary because a battle was going on – and have heard his voice. I even have his voice on tape a few times. Even after over 30 years later, he’s still a mystery but a while back I wrote a blog all about him. I no longer write in it – basically because nothing’s happened lately – but it did help in putting the puzzle pieces together. I’ve even written a book loosely based on him.

    As far as I know, his name is Patrick. I think he looks after me, sort of like a guardian or spirit guide. I also highly suspect that IF there are past lives… (something I never ever believed in until I started having dreams about them. Yet again, I was basically forced to be open minded)… I knew him in one of them. I think I was from Ireland. I don’t know where he was from, but I suspect someplace like Wales.

    Like

    • Dede Taylor says:

      I believe in past lives … I have a very vivid memory of being locked in a box and thrown out to sea .. which has never happened to me .. this time around.. but I can smell the ocean and feel the rough texture of the wood the box is made from and it smells slightly of of whisky I have no idea why it happened, but I KNOW it did.

      Like

      • Oh my God! That’s terrible. Thank goodness I’ve never experienced/dreamed/had visions of anything like that. Are you claustrophobic now? I wouldn’t be surprised at all if you were.

        My aunt (born on Halloween, which I always thought fun) has always said she felt like she was murdered in a past life. She was walking up a spiral staircase in a castle and was stabbed from behind. She says she remembers her hands touching the cold stone walls as she walked up the stairs. Also, she and my mother both have always said they felt like they should have had a twin. (Which is weird because in this life they’re similar in looks, and even on the phone their voices sound similar).

        Like

  4. Nymerias says:

    I have only had one experience although I never actually saw anything. I was home sick from work, on the couch watching TV when it happened. We lived in a upstairs/downstairs duplex and the outside door was not accessible unless you had a key. We could always see who was at the main door by looking out the window. I heard a noise and looked out the window, seeing no one at the main door. The main door was heavy and was in major need of oil so you could always hear it open. One second later, I hear footsteps outside my apartment door and saw a shadow, I could have sworn. My brother lived upstairs and he was not at home at the time but a few seconds after I saw the shadow under my door, someone or something was walking around my brothers apartment but you never heard that door open either.

    I was freaked out but tried to forget about it by taking my cold meds and going to sleep!

    Like

  5. celia says:

    I believe in ghost and such. My D is a sensitive as my son but she is the stronger of the two. She is able to sense the presents and energy of those who have passed. The good and the bad and thankfully, we have only had two bad experiences. Her grandfather, uncle and great-grandmother have all come thru and have made several appearances in our home.

    Her more recent was a 15 year old boy who came through and others with him and stayed for a month in her 7th grade Humanities class while they were learning about the Holocaust,mainly focusing on the children of the Holocaust. More too this story but I just thought I’d give you a brief idea of her experiences. She is able to acknowledge them and they know who can and can not hear them or see them is they choose too be seen. “They are dead, not stupid” as she says. I have been told that she is able to communicate with them on a very high level and they know this and seek her out.

    It can be interesting but because she is so open, she is learning that you need too not let everyone or thing in and is a learning process too say the least.

    Like

Leave a Reply

