What’s Your Munro?

 

???????????????????????????????

(Not from Sam; my own mountain photos because I don’t have his permission to post his pics on this blog…but I hope you like these!  They’re from Colorado on my trip last May…)

Good evening Outlanders. We’ve now started the second-half-of-first-season watch (186 days!!) and, I don’t know about you, but I am trying to make it through!!

While this isn’t strictly about Outlander (books or series), or about any news that directly applies to it, I was struck with a realization that nearly knocked me out of my chair. All morning I was thinking about the pictures that Sam Heughan posted on Twitter. When that man sets his mind on something, he goes and gets it! As he takes the world by storm as the amazing Jamie Fraser…

Featured Image -- 786

…he is conquering the Munros and terrain of his homeland. And, through the magic of Twitter, we are along for the ride. It’s a very cool thing to watch because we really do feel like we’re with him. We want to see the pictures because we’re right along with his progress. We’re cheering him on. We’re walking with him (though after the last set of Munros I think I’ll drive behind in the Jeep thank you very much. I’m tired!!). Even though we’re on hiatus, we’re still experiencing the country he is proud to call home, a pride that we saw leading up to the Vote for Independence.

As he strives to conquer every Munro in the beautiful country that is Scotland (and being quite successful I may add), My Own Munro is knocking at the door, reminding me of not only what I’m NOT doing to make it happen but that I need to do it.

???????????????????????????????

Ok, there isn’t a literal Snarkland Munro; there are no Munros here on the Great Plains of the United States (though there are quite a few nice peaks and valleys here in Missouri).

Besides, who would name a Munro Snarkland anyway? Heck, who would name themselves Snarkland? I’m still asking myself that question.

But, for me, the Munro had been knocking for awhile. The drive, the determination was being kindled but, as I see Sam proudly standing on yet another Munro he’s bested, it’s become fully ignited (along with other things…oh come on, don’t tell me you weren’t as well) and I realize:

IT. IS. POSSIBLE.

IT.

IS.

POSSIBLE.

(How’s that for emphasis??)

Which brings me to the reason for this blog post. I’ve decided to tackle, with both hands and every inch of my body, soul and love of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (can I get an AMEN?!?) my Own Private Twin Peaks. Ok, ok, not nearly as creepy (or exciting) but my Own Private Munro does have two peaks, two different sides to the…um, well…mountain: the Obstacles and the Goals.

And if Sam can achieve his goals, I can achieve mine, right??

Goals (And All the Pretty Things That Go BLING)

You’ve just gotta love New Year’s Resolutions. For a lot of people the mere formation of NYRs are as inevitable as death and taxes, as necessary as breath in lungs. But for a lot of those same folks, they are just as quickly smashed, a bit like when you leave your toddler alone in a china shop. Tis just as expensive as well.

“Get another job!” “Lose weight!” “Move to Portugal!” “Stalk the man you’re obsessed with until he comes gravelling at your feet but before he gets a restraining order!”

Ummm…yeah, not that last one.

I could go on and on as to why the resolutions are broken but that’s not why I’m here (besides, that would mean I’d have to hold up a mirror to myself and, frankly, I just don’t want to do that). A long time ago I consciously stopped making New Year’s Resolutions because I recognized I couldn’t follow them. Life gets in the way. Family gets in the way. (Lack of) money gets in the way. Chocolate gets in the way. As a result, I’m left making unconscious ones, most of which involve me growing six inches taller, losing a bunch of weight, suddenly winning the lottery and wondering exactly how I would spend my morning in my palatial Lake Como villa. With the gorgeous pool boy named Paolo. Sadly I have yet to achieve any of those goals (“Where are you my Paolo?” I wail into the dark, dank night…).

For Sam Heughan, his goal IS the mountains. And he takes hold of his goal with a headstrong determination that has spurred me even more than I was before. Suddenly I want to see personal goals realized, especially goals with some sort of physical manifestation. I want to see the fruits of my labor right in front of me (or, for Sam, the fruits of his labor are the majestic views in front of him when he reaches the top of another Munro, and the checkmarks on his list of Munros to bag).

But first one has to ask themselves: what is MY Munro? What is my goal… and, on the flipside, what is my obstacle (Munro)? What is the Munro standing in the way of my goal?

 

 

But, in all honesty, that was never a question of mine because my goals are ones that I have kept tucked away in my subconscious, much like, say, a Pocket Jamie in your purse. (AWESOME! How about a Pocket Munro for a Pocket Jamie!! Pretty soon we’ll have enough Pocket…people and things… that we can produce our own Outlander series. Ok, who’s with me?? YouTube movie!! )

Are those crickets I hear??? You don’t want to do that??  But… if someone can put 12 hours of constant crickets, we can do a Pocket Outlander Production.

No??

Well, we’ve gotta do SOMETHING over the hiatus…

186 DAYS PEOPLE!!

Anyway, my goals have been there but… the obstacles have been too much, especially some days. First, though, you may ask what my goal is. Well, it’s not something as exciting as swimming with sharks or as interesting as going on an archaeological dig in Machu Picchu. It’s certainly not vital to the survival of the species and I’m not looking to cure cancer though I wouldn’t mind doing that. (My science and math skills suck; best leave that to people who know how to multiply.)

But it’s important to me, no matter how insignificant it may seem to others. And yours are just as important (or should be) to you.

My goal is to get, and stay, healthy.

YAY! I’ve just stated my goal. Now… what is growing on the nasty Peak of my Munro?

 

 

 

Obstacles (Or Those Ugly Little Trolls with the Flaming Arrows)

 

Not only do I have a thyroid issue, I also have PCOS, or polycystic ovarian syndrome. I’m quite surprised by both the number of women I talk to who have never heard of it, and the number of women who have it and struggle with it like I do. I don’t mind talking about it; it’s an imbalance of hormones that, well, can make a woman’s life a living hell, messing with everything from depression to weight gain to blood sugar.

(Come to think of it, I have a thyroid imbalance as well. So all my chemicals are out of whack. Could that explain the road rage I get when people, who normally have a modicum of common sense and intelligence in their daily lives, turn into jackwagons as soon as they sit behind the wheel of a car? No, wait, jackwagons. Ok, not my fault.)

Actually, the laundry list of PCOS symptoms is so long that we’d be on this blog forever. But it has made every aspect of my life just one flaming ball of misery after another. And do you know whose fault that is?? To a point, it’s not the PCOS’s fault I’ve been miserable. It’s not my family’s fault. Nor my gene pool’s. Nope, not the economy’s either. Not even Justin Bieber’s fault (who knew??).

It’s my fault I’ve been miserable.

I chose, for a long, long time, to simply ignore it and **hope** it would go away (as if wishing would actually make something happen). Every single symptom that’s reared its nasty head has been an obstacle, one that continued to beat me down. It’s done nothing but make my life that much worse. On top of that, I didn’t have the support of doctors. The doctors I saw just kept passing me off to other people, and I wasn’t getting any guidance. To them they knew what I had but they didn’t lay out any course of action. And, for my part, I wasn’t standing up for myself. I wasn’t taking the preverbal bull by the horns and making the proper doctoral changes in my life. This denial went on for way too long.

Until, after a rather terrifying event, I said, “SCREW THIS. ENOUGH is ENOUGH. I’ve had it. I’ve got to take control of this.” And I did. I went to a new doctor who is so determined to get me on the right track that her passion to do so surprised me. Honestly, I never knew a doctor to be that determined to get me better. We’re working together. We’re trying things. We’re being PRO-ACTIVE. I’m taking advice and am following it (no matter how resentfully I handle it). It’s with her encouragement and determination that I found my spark… and Sam’s determination that’s fanning it to a full flame.

So, while Sam is bagging Munros and being just being altogether awesome during his time off, I am determined to cross My Own Private Twin Peaks (my health) and stand atop my Munro (goal): a healthier, happier, snarkier Snarkland. Once I reach this goal I will be able to accomplish so much; I’ll be able to reach other goals, goals I hadn’t thought were attainable. It truly is a domino effect.

???????????????????????????????

And so now I ask again: what is your Munro? Is your Munro the goal? Or is your Munro the obstacle(s) holding your back from your goals? Because, believe you me, there is no Fairy Godmother with a Twinkle Wand to POOF! your dreams, goals, aspirations, whatever they are, into existence. If there is she missed my house… and she owes me a pool boy!! And a model’s beach-ready body. And…

And thank you, Sam. Keep those Munro photos coming because, whether you realize it or not, you’ve got millions of screaming females following you up the Munros and through the thistle-laden valleys of Scotland. And do you really want to disappoint us? Surely not.

The best,

Snarkland

About snarkland78

I try to stay very busy: knitting, crocheting, reading, writing. I love British TV, movies; mysteries and true crime/historical.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What’s Your Munro?

  1. Nymerias says:

    Brilliant Post my friend and I love you!xxx Oh you made me cry too. It’s amazing how alike we are. Sam is full of passion and conviction and full of life that you can’t help but feel that excitement and passion for life he has. I will tell you my Munro. I am normally a very private person, unless I know a person welk but you were brave so shall I be. As you know, I am caregiver to my wonderful mother who has been through hell and back with her health. It has taken a toll on both of us. I gave up my dreams and passions to take care of her to which I have no regrets. She is my mother after all and you only get one.

    Depression sets in because you feel helpless when you can’t help the person you love and the fear sets in. Fear of leaving the house because you won’t be there. I was also going it alone because I have three brothers and I am the only girl. They helped in other ways but not in ways that I needed at the time.

    The depression got so bad that it was effecting my health and it is better now but it is something you battle everyday to keep at bay. It never goes away, it is always there, like a ticking time bomb. How I fight it is my writing and reading. I write my blog posts, poems and the book I am working on. I go for walks and look out at the scenery as we roll into season after season, with my headphones in my ears. My mom is getting better but the struggle is there daily so I get my inspiration where ever I can. So my Munro is to keep fighting depression and to fight for my mother!

    Again great post and thanks for making me cry! Love ya lots! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Theresa says:

    Oh you are so brave! I have had a similar journey the past two years. As I was viewing Heughan’s tweets, I was asking myself if I could also climb those mountains. Two years ago, the answer would have been “never”. Now the answer is, ” quite possibly “. In reading your Sam- inspired blog post, I want to tell you that you absolutely can accomplish your goals. I’d love to climb the mountains with you, in fact. Hopefully, I’ll share my details soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nymerias says:

      I say we all go bagging some Munros! Thank you for posting….now I got to do something with that tagline!

      Like

    • snarkland78 says:

      Awww…thank you Theresa! Your words are lovely and I appreciate hearing from you! Trust me, even 6 months ago I couldn’t blog about something like this but… it’s important to talk about this. It’s important to realize we’ve all got issues but we can get to the top of the Munro. And yes, I would LOVE to climb a Munro with you!

      Snark

      Like

      • Nymerias says:

        Depression became a key topic after Robin Williams death. I did not like a lot of the comments I was reading afterwards. I was tweeting my opinions something fierce as well as talking about it on my Facebook page. It annoyed me that some were taking it so lightly. It’s a serious condition that needs to be taken seriously. It is a difficult thing to deal with daily. As I said reading helps, especially from authors that truly allow me to escape and recharge and corral thoughts. My writing does the same for me.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. snarkland78 says:

    Good gravy woman! Now you’re making ME cry! Lord have mercy!!

    Thank you for sharing. Trust me, I completely understand. My whole childhood has, unfortunately, set me up for how I look at myself and deal with myself. Part of the reason I did nothing about myself is because of what you mentioned: depression. I, literally, would look at the world around me and just be…bleh. I wouldn’t feel. Then it would ebb and I would feel again…then the cycle would start over. I realize now it’s because of my medical condition. The medication I’ve started to take has actually helped to regulate the hormone levels so I can, well, feel normal again. People have no idea how bad this really is. Plus, couple this with the fact that I can lose weight but can’t keep it off… I just haven’t had any self-esteem. Until this new doctor and the light at the end of the tunnel. Its with that, and the encouragement I read from Sam, and others, that push me toward my ultimate goals, ones that I am keeping completely secret until I can share them with, well, anyone.

    But I see light at the end of the tunnel…and by becoming friends with you, Ny, and Bead, and others through Outlander and other mediums (I still have my friends from when I was active on the House Boards) I am getting through this… life will get better. You just have to WANT to keep going. 🙂

    Love ya lots and lots. xxx

    Like

  4. snarkland78 says:

    Well, Ny, people were writing hateful stuff about RW because they have very narrow-focused brains that, if it doesn’t affect them, they have an awful opinion about it. They have no idea what people go through… but by golly do they have an opinion about it. And they are going to make sure you know it too. But… they’ll be the first to whine and complain when they are bullied about something near and dear to them. Sigh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

