The One Where We All Married Jamie

Review Banner

I am still a bit speechless. I still have some trouble formulating and articulating a coherent thought. I am willing to give it a shot, however. I am still in complete awe, for this is the best book to TV adaptation I have ever seen. I am truly honored and blessed to be a part of it. Oh, well look there, it appears that I am not having any problems now, eh?

THE BEAUTY OF OUTLANDER

The reason fans of this series are getting the best of the books is all due to the production team that is behind the show. Everyone involved with this show should give themselves a big pat on the back because what I saw on screen last night was beyond brilliant. Everything we have see thus far has been magical, from the brilliant scripts, to the fabulous locations and beautiful scenery of Scotland, to the gorgeous fashions and to the amazing acting chops of ALL involved. It is all of these things that put us in the best moments of the book and I want to thank ALL of those individuals who brought one of my favorite book series to life right before my very eyes.

I have always said that as long as key points of the book were in the show at key moments, then I would be a happy Outlander. I don’t need a word for word adaptation but that is basically what we have received. The powers that be at Outlander have went beyond my expectations and for that I want to say THANK YOU. There have been a few minor changes but it always works it’s way back to the point of the story.

THE WEDDING

We have been hearing and seeing everything from Claire’s point of view and that is how it starts and ends with the voiceover. I loved the contrast between her marriage to Frank and her marriage to Jamie. One marriage born from love and one out of necessity for life that you can only tell will change into being her greatest love. I admit that at the beginning of the episode, I was feeling a bit underwhelmed, at least until the episode picked up as much steam as a freight train. What we saw in between that time was from Jamie’s point of view and it made for a nice change of pace.

We did not need to hear a voiceover from Jamie to know what he was thinking and feeling. It was written all over his face. You could hear it in his voice and see it in the choices he made throughout the moments leading up to the wedding. Sam was bloody brilliant throughout the whole episode (more on that later). Jamie only plans on being married but the one time and he wants to make sure that he does it in such a way that will make his mother proud. What we and Claire get is an already very handsome man in full on Highlander regalia. He made her a ring out of something silver he had in his sporran (beadrbop suspected it was his key to Lallybroch),and wanted to make sure they were married in a church, and that Claire had a dress. What a beautiful dress! Hats off to Terry and company for the beautiful designs!

hot

dress

Source: YahooTV

I adored the flashbacks that led back to the actual wedding, to show us all the things Jamie did all day, which was in sharp contrast to what Claire did all day.

Gif Source: gcatherinev

THE WEDDING NIGHT

I thought everything about this moment was perfect, all the lead up to the actual consummation of the marriage, it was all so simply beautiful and realistic. I know that some of the more popular lines were not in the scene but it was all so Damn beautiful,that if I am to be quite honest, and so freaking hot that (to semi-quote Rhett Butler) ‘Frankly, my dear I did not give a damn’! I am sure that some of those missed dialogues will show up in later episodes, for Ron and company have not let us down yet, and I don’t think they will either.

I am going to try and say this while still sounding like a lady so that no one gets the wrong idea about me or any of my other fellow Outlander Wenches (you know who you are) AHEM, sorry had to clear my throat! Normally, in a movie or TV show, it is always the woman that is showcased in the throes of passion and never the man. In Outlander, we saw the opposite and it was very refreshing to not only see a woman in control(YOU GO CLAIRE)in that situation but for us women to see a man totally have his…ummmm…moment! I am sure that this was due to Jamie being a virgin and it was in character but I want more of that. Please sir may I have some more? (Yes I am blushing majorly)

safe_image

It was very powering in this woman’s opinion. It was in these scenes and in the moments prior (meaning non-sexual scenes) that Sam Heughan stole the whole damn show and he OWNED every bit of it. He was absolutely mesmerizing, between the soft looks he gave her, to the pearls he gave her, and he barely had to say a word at all.

I know it takes two to make a scene great and Cait was superb as well and they work very well together. I think for me, as a book fan, I always felt that scene was more about Jamie at the beginning than it was about the two of them. The reason could be that we hardly hear about a man’s first time and again it was refreshing to see. In fact, it’s downright sexy!

Now, I did not post a cap of Sam’s very nice arse because 1.It is already a little hot in here (even on a nice fall day) and 2. I don’t want to objectify the man anymore than I already have in secret places that can’t be seen 3. I wanted an excuse to show off a drawing that was done before Sam was cast. You make the comparisons because last but not least 4. I am already blushing enough, no need to make my face 50 more shades of RED. It does not go well with my blond hair.

I would say that matches said ARSE!

I would say that matches said ARSE!

Drawing Source: Diana Gabaldon by her friend Sylvia

Well, I did not hit on everything that happened in this but quite frankly, I am spent! 😉 I am sure this post came out looking a HOT MESS so until next week DREAMERS, watch, rewatch and rewatch! 🙂

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The One Where We All Married Jamie

  1. Beta says:

    Spot on! Love the post. I’m still recovering from that episode, it was Legen… wait for it… Dary! Ron and his gang did an amazing job with The Wedding episode, bravo. And I totally agree about the missing dialogues, I’m sure they will show up in later episodes.

    Ps, I’ve been wondering that as well, about the key being the key to Lallybroch 🙂

    That’s all I can say now, and I’m pretty proud of myself for actually being able to form the above words, it was challenging. You did a great job of expressing my feelings!

    XOXO Beta

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I was surprised I did foresee more of this fkngjgjgjjfhfjg in your comment! Ron and company did great by the books! I am more in love with this show by the minute!

      After next week’s episode, it is on hiatus, guess we watch watch and rewatch!

      XOXO

      Like

  2. trarecar says:

    I’ve already watched it twice. Loved it! Missed the fainting but it’s okay. They did such a good job. I feel so fortunate to have such a caring group of professionals taking care of this beloved story.

    Like

  3. snarkland78 says:

    Great review!!! I also missed the fainting and her waking up with her head in his lap and he taking care of her (one of many fav parts in the book). One big glaring omission/change was Claire’s wedding venue. I thought C/F and C/J were married in the same chapel, just 200 yrs apart? Well, like I have maintained, it is an adaptation and if Herself is happy then, though we may not be as happy, we must accept it because this isn’t our universe; it’s Hers.

    I, too, liked how they kept their focus on Jamie during their second time. It was as if he was rewarded for being the honorable man that he is. While stuffy, and old-fashioned, that may sound, he was rewarded because he lost himself to the woman that he loves (which, let’s face it, love matches just didn’t happen often in the 1700s). To this I say BRAVO!! And damn, my wee Jamie, what a fine arse you do have.

    All in all very pleased. Now I am giving myself a pep talk, trying to console myself that the world won’t end because we only have one epi left and have to wait here months for more!!! (You will be fine, Snark, you can make it…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nymerias says:

      I did not mind the venue change that much. The first time they had sex, it was about him. The second time, it was about them getting to know each other in that way. The third time, it was about the time of them, and it was magical.

      I have a meme just waiting for the hiatus! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • snarkland78 says:

        I was thinking about when we saw Jamie’s pleasure. We see him truly becoming a man throughout this episode. First he goes from, seemingly, the boy in the stables to a man with a wife. We then see the first time, where Jamie hits that ‘rite of passage’ that all young men achieve, the loss of this virginity. Granted it was awkward and, as we see him analyze it against what he was told, it seems almost clinical and a learning experience for him. Then, as the man and woman get to know each other better, the trust develops and the second time he learns what true pleasure is. He puts his trust in her, and puts himself into a vulnerable state in front of her. For an outlaw on the run that’s huge. Finally, when he gives his lady one of the very last pieces of himself (after all that he’s already given her) that is truly meaningful, the two become one. Claire knows this and she knows what she has. It’s her turn to trust him like he trusts her.

        I can’t wait to see how they handle the scene where he takes her back to the stones and gives her the choice. That will be so…awesome.

        Like

        • Nymerias says:

          Yes because that is when she realized that she loved only him. It’s all going to be so beautiful.

          Like I said in my post at first the whole wedding and the night that followed was more about him, in the beginning at least. It was about the two of them by the end of it. ‘There’s the two us now’

          Liked by 1 person

      • trarecar says:

        I know, snark! I re-read that scene last night. I cannot WAIT for that. I may cry.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Redhead says:

    Such an awesome episode! I’ll try not to repeat too much of what others here already wrote, as I agree with the great post and comments! What a unique way to break up the sequence of the day, with flashbacks while getting to know each other. I wish some of the Jamie/Claire talking/intimacy scenes could have been a little longer (maybe cut out the bible quote-off with the priest) to include more book stuff, but it was still done very well. Rupert and Angus crack me up with their banter, love those guys. Claire’s dress–wow! I read and watched behind the scene stuff on what it took to make it…such incredible detail!
    Dougal clearly still has his sights set on Claire…will he respect her (and Jamie?) and the marriage? He says he doesn’t hold with rape, but obviously adultery isn’t a problem for him.
    It was hard to tell because of the slow-motion, but it seemed that Claire didn’t scramble/run after her wedding ring when it fell, she just walked. I know if my ring was headed for a crack in the floor I’d be running! Maybe a sign that she is no longer trying to “run” back to the stones to her previous life?
    Oh, and I can’t end without paying homage to the eye candy, especially Jamie’s “fine arse,” as Snark puts it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

