Twitter Me This……

…..or Twitter Me That! Twitter was the last social media I joined and that was when I received an invitation from a college friend. I made up a Twitter handle which made me think I was entering the world of semi-truck drivers. Breaker Breaker one-nine, what’s your twenty anyone?

As it turned out, it was a bit more complicated than that. I was lost the first time out and wondered what all the fuss was about. I could not get the inner workings of Twitter down. I thought what the Twitterverse called a ‘hashtag'(#) was the damn pound sign you see on your phone. As I continued to blog more, I saw how useful it was, you could get a message out to the world a lot faster than an email.

I felt lost in a sea of tweets half the time and the more people that followed me or that I followed (for the blog), the worse that feeling became. I ended up unfollowing people because there is no rule that says you have to follow everyone who follows you.

Now, we have what has become my favorite show, Outlander tweeting as well as other Outlander blogs. Not to mention the actors who tweet on a regular basis when schedule permits and we have Tweets and Retweets and those hashtags ‘aka’ the pound sign are a constant. It’s enough to do your head in.

You might be wondering what the point of this post is as it relates to Outlander but I have one. I have been on Twitter for maybe five years now and my first live Twitter chat was with author Chloe Neil’s character, Ethan Sullivan. I was again lost in a sea of Tweets, retweets and those lovable ‘hashtags’. Even if my question was answered, I would probably miss it and never find it. You just might miss it but it is not lost.

Now, we are back to Outlander, who like their live Twitter chats and so do the fans. I believe so far ,Ron D Moore sent out live tweets during the premiere, and Sam Heughan, Lotte Verbeek and Graham Mactavish have held live chats/Q & A’s.

So there will be another live chat/Q&A with Maril Davis, co-executive producer of Outlander today.

1409184526001

I know most people on Twitter are pros by now and can handle a live tweet session but here are a few tips nonetheless for those who are not.

1.Don’t forget the #AskOutlander hashtag because later you can go back and search that hashtag to read all the related topics. You know in case you get lost in a sea of Tweets and retweets and hashtags.

2. Don’t forget the @ before whomever your Tweeting. You know, in your haste to get your question in.

3. Be creative and ask a funny or intelligent question or even make a statement, something to catch the eye. I have not mastered this but I endeavor to.

4. This is important, be patient. The person on the other side is getting a lot of questions thrown at them at once. I imagine it’s a wee bit overwhelming and a question or two or three might get missed. I am sure there will be other opportunities for you to take another stab at it.

5. This being of the utmost importance, be respectful, and don’t get too personal, and be gracious.

I’m still no master at Twitter, I learn something new everyday but I do see the appeal. I still get lost with the many tweets going on at once. Enjoy the live Twitter chat today and try to keep up DREAMERS! 🙂

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Ask Outlander, Live Tweeting, Outlander and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twitter Me This……

  1. snarkland78 says:

    All the confusion is why I leave it to the experts, like you, to give us a summary of what they say! LOL Twitter can be very confusing which is why I don’t really say much.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Twitter still confuses me so no expert here. I still don’t know all. I tried get down as much of the tweets Maril posted so I will rely on the webpage that did get them. Then get it from there. I have a bloody headache today. Allergies kicking in too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

