Claire: That Sassy Sassenach

Courtesy of Starz

Courtesy of Starz

*I started this post 2 days ago on paper (yes I still write that way at times) so I found the above picture amusing. I just wish I had thought of the Sassynach part!*

Claire Randall may be 200 hundred years removed from her life but she has adjusted well. I don’t think I would be holding up as well with all that has happened to her so far. In fact, it is safe to say that I would be hitting Colum’s stash of Rhenish pretty hard.

One minute you are in 1945 Scotland and the next you are in the 18th century circa 1743, with gunshots going off overhead and men are in Redcoat and Highland gear. What strange magic is this? I would have been ready to take the Express Train back to 1945 pronto, no ifs, ands or buts about it. I would be clicking my ruby slippers three times, chanting there’s no time like 1945, there’s no time like 1945, there’s no time like…well you get the drift. Where’s a Delorean when you need one? Of course, after laying eyes on Jamie Fraser, it would be hard to leave him behind.

DeLorean_682_1312995a

Our Claire is one smart lassie though, for she has found a way to acclimatize herself to the time she has found herself in, albeit against her own wishes. While she maybe a stranger in a strange time, she has dugs her heels in and is making the best of a tough situation. This was one of the many reasons she is a beloved character. She is a sassy, smart woman and will let you know what is on her mind, carefully of course. She knows she has to watch herself while waiting for a chance to get back to the stones. Why not get drunk, tease Jamie mercilessly and give Father Bain a stare down and refused to back down? She is a take charge, no nonsense kind of woman and you would do best not to mess with her.

tumblr_naw4r8qvmT1tcc71ko1_1280

I think Catriona Balfe plays Claire beautifully and I can’t see the character as anyone else. I am just going to leave this post with a few gifs of Claire’s sassy ways. I am looking forward to more and the slow burn that is Jamie and Claire.

She’s got a mouth that one

I would say as the series goes on that she will become even more sassy and we would not have it any other way. What are your thoughts on Claire? Sound off below!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Claire: That Sassy Sassenach

  1. snarkland78 says:

    Great analysis. And what you said about taking the express train? Oh yeah but… If there hadn’t been real bullets flying everywhere I might have wanted to explore some.

    Like

  2. Redhead says:

    I am loving the character of Claire, and Caitriona’s (sp?) portrayal of her. I like when Claire is unsure of something but you can see her literally keeping her chin up to show others (and herself) that she can do it. I think somebody else here may have commented on that as well! Looking forward to seeing this strong female character evolve and also accept support/strength from Jamie in the process. They are going to make a great team. Oh and I’m sure the sex won’t be that bad either. đŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Just as Sam has brought Jamie to life and made him his own, so has Caitlin as Claire.

      I hope she does too because she needs someone in her corner that knows at least some of the truth. Mrs.Fitz adores her but she needs a strong person.

      I always marveled at how two people who had been through so much could be so strong. Especially Jamie. * shudders*

      They will be each other’s rocks and ummm yeah these will be off the charts good.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 15 Reasons Why You Should Be Watching Starz’s Outlander | Alana's Hollywood.com

Leave a Reply

