Outlander:Take Me Away

1408228473542

I find I am still so amazed at the quality television fans are getting from Outlander. There are reasons as to why people read and watch television, and the simple reason is to escape. Outlander does escape well and in spades!

The reason I love book to TV or movie adaptations is so that I can see my favorite parts of the book come to life. There is nothing more magical than seeing those parts and hearing those favorite lines.

Have you ever seen the Never-ending Story? Well, if you have not, then you must. I feel like Bastion, who literally ended up inside the story as a character, except I won’t be changing things as I am not the writer, like Bastion sort of was. I wonder if that is how HERSELF feels right now.

The point is, I feel as if I have literally jumped into the book. A good book has that effect anyhow but now I can say, I have been to Scotland and traveled through the stones in more ways than one. I don’t think I can praise all those involved into making this happen well enough, except to say thank you!

I watched the episode again last night so I feel like I have an Outlandish hangover this morn and I was not even a part of #scotchtalk.

MRS.FITZ

I love her and this is why:

She is so exuberant!

Murtagh: “Give us a kiss”

I think Claire and Mrs.Fitz will be verra close and no I am not worried about #slapgate.

THE CHANGING OF THE BANDAGE

This scene was beautifully done and is now one of my favorite scenes. This scene was pivotal as it was the start of their relationship. The trust was being built in this scene and they comforted each other in their own way. Claire finally broke down and cried in Jamie’s arm, it was so beautiful.

O102promo030

The flogging had to be the most uncomfortable scene as I cringed with every blow and having to watch his sister being manhandled by that dragoon Randall was rough. Those were the nice words I chose to you for him. I won’t be so nice in my wording later in the series though. I am thankful for Jamie’s sense of humor for it kind of lightened the mood after the telling of the flogging and after seeing his back.

tumblr_nafv01cQrz1sotbrno3_250

I adored seeing the two of them having lunch together at the paddock because their bond and friendship is still in the beginning stages. I described it as the ‘slow burn‘ and I am a big fan of it. We have read about them falling in love and now we get to see it.

SASSY CLAIRE

I love strong female characters and Claire is one of the strongest in a long list of them, well longer than it used to be anyhow. She tells you like it is and gives it to you straight, all the while knowing she has to tread carefully.

She is in a different time period, one that she knows a lot about and if she were to give away that knowledge, things could get really bad for her. I feel really bad for her but she is holding up better than I would. When she made the faux pas with wee Hamish, I wanted to crawl underneath the table for her.

THEY SAY I’M A WITCH

CREEPY

How creepy was Lotte Verbeek as Geillis?

THE TAKING OF THE PUNISHMENT

It is these types of things that make Jamie Fraser the King of All Men. He took the punishment for Laoghaire because he did not wish to see the young lass embarrassed in front of the whole hall. Despite the fact that he was already injured and still healing, he took the punishment in her stead. Dougal is a proper piece of work, some uncle he is. ‘Watch yourself, laddie your uncle’s up to something’.

I loved every bit of this episode and I find I cannot wait until Saturday for ‘The Way Out’ but I will find something to do to see me through. There is after all ‘Can you translate this’ to look forward to! Hopefully, next week my excitement and glee will have toned down an octave or two so as to give a proper review but I am still basking in glow that is Outlander.

Until next weeks review Dreamers, I will leave you with the gif that keeps on giving!

SWOON

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Outlander:Take Me Away

  1. trarecar says:

    Jamie’s expression when Claire said she was leaving. So good!!! The actress playing Geillis is fantastic. I look forward to seeing more of her. I always thought she was a really interesting character to read, and I was glad to see her again in the last book. I have to admit I’m a little worried about #slapgate, but I do trust the powers that be to get this story right. It doesn’t have to be a literal translation. 🙂

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I have had this conversation in a Facebook group and one my site’s tumblr page. I think it is a ‘what if’ type of situation. Example: Claire wants to desperately confide in someone and she thinks that Mrs.Fitz has been so kind to her so she ‘imagines’ the scenarios that COULD happen. Herself said it is really not a big thing but we can only wait and see.

      Like

  2. Snarkland says:

    What a great recap! I enjoyed this episode myself (though, for some reason, Starz comes in really, REALLY quietly through my TV so I think I’m gonna have to go back and watch it online so I can hear better). And I do agree: the look on Jamie’s face! We already know, at least according to the book, that Jamie fell in love with Claire the first time he comforted her in the castle so when they said goodbye he already had feelings for her. And you could see those feelings on his face. Quite beautiful. And damn, girl, when he took that punishment for Laoghaire… he was so proud yet so honorable! Talk about quiverin’ lady bits! LOL

    This series is truly going to get me. I’m just… wow. And thank you for the page… it’s nice to have a place to come and vent/rave/rant about the show! 🙂

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Your welcome! I am so lucky and grateful to have ladies here I have been commenting to for a few years now! Everything was so perfect in this episode, I had to watch it again last night after TB because ‘the lift home’ broke my thought closed shipper heart wide open and I needed a pick me up. I won’t digress and go off too much on that tangent here, we have ESL for that.

      Sam is so Jamie, mannerisms, the facial expressions I imagined and his mmphhh’s! I love Cait’s form of Sassy Claire. It is all so perfect.

      I am still on TFC so be gentle with me on the last book news.

      Like

  3. beadrbop says:

    Awesome recap! I admit I did not think I was going to really fall for the show but I’m hooked. The cast and the writing keep me enthralled. Great to see a show based on a book actually doing service to the books! thanks again!

    Like

  4. Snarkland says:

    I must share this with you because it made me laugh as I was reading it…

    http://time.com/3119172/outlander-recap-claire-and-jamies-road-to-star-crossed-love/

    Like

  5. Pingback: Doctor Who Cares- That's Normal

Leave a Reply

