Can You Translate This??

IMG_22864654022236

You may recall from my first post that a friend of mine runs Outlander Italy
and has some trouble understanding the Scottish accent. We all do but it might be a little harder for her. It gets a little comical at times as you will see!

Yesterday afternoon, she posted the above video clip and had no idea what she was saying. This was was not super hard but what made it comical was we as reader’s should have already known what Mrs.Fitzgibbon was saying. Our conversation went something like this:

Leif: Darn, I can’t view it – or I’d tell you! lol

Nymerias: Here we go, give me a few

Mony: LOL Nymerias It’s a ritual xD Leif I think you can see this https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=694102730671763&set=vb.480471528701552&type=2&theater 🙂

Nymerias:I think she said Oh my or Aye I can find what you need.But you mean to say you know what to do for that?

Leif(who was spot on):” Oh aye, I can find what ya mean, but do you mean to say you know what to do for that?”…”Yer a charmer then.” Then : I found it online, this is it exactly “”Oh, aye, I know what ye mean. But do ye mean to say as ye know what to do for that? Are ye a charmer then? A Beaton?”
From chapter 4 of Outlander

Nymerias: Yer a charmer then, a Beatle not sure about the Beatle thing

Mony: wow! those lines are directly taken from the book. Beaton is the healer of Castle Leoch.

Nymerias: Yes Beaton! Now I remember that line from the book. (smacks my head)

Leif: I LOVE how close the show is mirroring the books – dialogue and all. No one can tell me that an adaptation that sticks to the source material is boring. That is NOT TRUE. *cough TB cough*

Sticking to the source material could never be boring as fans want to see all the scenes that we loved from the book. After all, those are the reasons we fell in love with the series in the first place.

As we are an entertaining bunch most of the time, I can see already the direction our conversations will be going regarding the clips we will see. This particular conversation was mild in comparison. I am sure there will be more to come.

As usual, sound off below!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

