The Appeal Of Jamie Fraser

James Alexander Malcolm Mackenzie Fraser is known by all Outlander fans as ‘The King Of All Men’ and I am sure there are a variety of reasons why. I cannot begin to cover them all but I can give my opinion on the matter. Quite simply, he is the ultimate man and they don’t come a dime a dozen.

IMG_3657327880862

Back in July, a couple of Saucy Wenches and I were having a discussion about what constitutes an ‘Alpha’ Male because a couple of us thought this described Jamie to a ‘T’. He has all the qualities that would make him the Ultimate Alpha male. I won’t rehash here all that we said but I encourage all you Outlanders to read the post HERE.

If you read the above post, you can tell we all put a lot of thought into all the reasons why he is an Alpha male and I realized I barely touched on a major one.I mentioned that what happened to him at the hands of Blackjack should have broken him and it almost did, if not for the fact that Claire knew what kind of man he was and would not let what happened break his spirit.

What I did not really touch on was Jamie’s innocence and vulnerability.He might have been a big strong Highlander who can fight with the best of them but it was his awkward shyness that tugged at your heart strings.

Normally we read about a woman’s first time and how she feels. It was sexy to me to read about a man’s first time and how he felt. I found his shyness to be endearing and therefore sexy as well. While he may have been shy and awkward before his first time, but he wanted to make sure Claire was comfortable as well.

They sat and talked for a while so as to get the feel of one another before getting intimate with each other. I felt this was as much for Jamie as it was for Claire.

Look ye, lass. We have three or four days together here. While I dinna pretend to know all there is to know, I’ve lived a good bit of my life on a farm, and unless people are verra different from other animals, it isna going to take that long to do what we have to. We have a bit of time to talk, and get over being scairt of each other.

I was in swoon mode at this point, it is in this speech that I felt my love for Jamie begin. It is a rare breed of man to admit that much vulnerability but yet exude so much strength, enough to put a woman at ease.

I know there are things ye’d not wish to tell me, Claire. Perhaps things you can’t tell me. I’ll not press you, ever, or insist on knowin’ things that are your own concern. There are things that I canna tell you, at least not yet. And I’ll ask nothing of ye that ye canna give me. But what I would ask of ye -when you do tell me something, let it be the truth. And I’ll promise ye the same, we have nothing now between us, save-respect, perhaps. And I think that respect has maybe room for secrets, but not for lies.

Are we swooning yet? I know you have to be because I am. He may be young at this point in the story but he is wise beyond his years. These moments and more are what I am looking forward to seeing being played out on screen.

He gave her the story of his life, where he grew up and about his family members, save what he could tell her and she did the same. It was sometime before they got intimate and it was well worth the wait.

He lifted me to my feet then, and bent his head to kiss me. It went on a long while, and his hands roamed downward, finding the fastening of my petticoat. It fell to the floor in a billow of starched flounces, leaving me in my chemise.

“Where did you learn to kiss like that?” I said, a little breathless. He grinned and pulled me close again.

“I said I was a virgin, not a monk,” he said, kissing me again. “If I find I need guidance, I”‘ll ask.”

He may have been a virgin but he sure knew how to make your heart melt and go weak in the knees.

Tell me if I’m too rough, or tell me to stop altogether, if ye wish. Anytime until we are joined; I dinna think I can stop after that.

Afterwards, when asked if it was like how he thought it would be, he thought she would laugh at what he thought. It was cute how he did not think they did it face to face but from behind like horses. I have to continue to use the term ‘endearing’ because that is how I feel every time I read it. Your heart swells with love for his innocent honesty and you find that you are find that you are hooked on this man and you will never be the same again.

I was going to say that I hoped the man who had the honor lie first wi’ you was as generous as you were with me. But on second thought, that didna sound quite right. What I meant…well,all I wanted was to say thank you.

There are a lot of facets that make up Jamie Fraser but it is his sweet innocence that first hooked you and made you want to hold him and never let go. Jamie Fraser is the type of man all woman are looking for and that some never find. He can fight with the best of men , be it a dirk, sword or gun. He would give his life for those he loves and not hesitate to kill, if necessary. For all these reasons and more, Jamie Fraser is the King Of All Men and we are the lucky fans that get to see it play out on television.

Don’t be afraid. There’s the two of us now.

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Diana Gabaldon, Outlander and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Appeal Of Jamie Fraser

  1. bethwesson says:

    You know I liked this! He allowed himself to be out there with Claire. He lets her see who he really is and I believe who he is is a man with some emotional intelligence. Because he allows himself to be vulnerable, they have a real chance at intimacy. I agree with you, this is why we fall in love with him.

    Like

  2. Snarkland says:

    I’m not quite a rabid fan (as I had a hard time getting through the book) but I do love Jamie. What do you think of Sam as Jamie?? (I think I’ll have a better opinion when we see more of him without his clothes) šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Snarkland says:

    I found the FB page and have liked it, and have mentioned it to friends. šŸ™‚ Can’t wait for your recaps!!

    Like

  4. Steph Wang says:

    I really like what you said here. I think that we often associate ALPHA male as having strong physique, power, strength, etc, with huge sex appeal. But we sort of forget about the sensitive and vulnerable side to a man. I think Jamie has very high emotional intelligence and coupled with resilience, he definitely stands out!

    Like

  5. Kris Vossler says:

    Strange as it may seem – my favorite thing about Jamieis his sense of humor. He has such a wonderful self-deprecating sense of humor and he almost always finds something witty to say!

    Like

  6. luvvamps says:

    Sweet! I can’t wait for the next episode! I don’t want to wish time away as there is only 8. It will give me time to read more of the books. I don’t want the series to get ahead of me. Still reading Voyager. I’m happy once again.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Glad you are happy! Yes, the season is split and the next 8 will be released in the new year. I like it keeps me hungry for me and that should be getting to the good stuff. I am so thrilled you are loving this book series!

      Like

  7. trarecar says:

    I love Jamie’s strength. I don’t mean his physical strength, per se, but his strength of character and his willingness to do whatever has to be done for those he loves, no matter how exhausted he is or how dangerous it might be. He puts himself out there for the ones he loves. You know for a fact that Jamie will protect you with everything he has, until his dying breath. You can’t say enough about that.

    Like

  8. GiselleP says:

    If Jamie was only an alpha male, i would’t be really interested in him. I love his vulnerability an innocence those are the things that made me fall for him, I was astonished because of the fact that this big strong male could be so vulnerable. But there’s something about him that surprises me even more, his strength and ability to cope with things. I first thought about it when Claire told him the truth, i was astounded by the way he believed her, it was impossible, how could he believe something like that?.And then i remembered all the things that he had to cope with, from the death of his mother to his two floggings. And yet he still has the ability to be wondered and be curious and a sense of humor. Any man would be broken if he was in Jamie’s position, but somehow Jamie isn’t and i really appreciate his resilience. Hell, if I’ve been through half of the things Jamie went through, I wouldn’t want to keep living

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I agree with all that you said. Jamie has so many layers to him, even with all the things he went through, he never lost hope or himself. Until Wentworth that is but even then you still saw Jamie and what kind of man he was underneath it all.

      He is truly a beautiful man.

      Like

      • GiselleP says:

        Oh Wentworth, I haven’t gotten to that part yet but I know enough if it to make me know I don’t want to read it, it’s going to be so painful and emotionally exhausting for me, but still I can’t leave Jamie alone in this, do you get the feeling? Anyway I’m awfully close to it, about two chapters away or so. I’m not going to lie, I’m dreading it. I left Wentworth out of the comment because I was pretending that somehow this man ability to cope was limitless, which is stupid and i was perfectly aware that I was deluding myself, sort of a protection until it was truly necessary.

        But yes, he is truly a beautiful man, better than most.

        Like

  9. Pingback: Pitching My Champion Alpha Male….. | OutlanderDreaming

Leave a Reply

